We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated and expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BBQ King Restaurant

BBQ King Restaurant
18 Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Bbq King Restaurant)
9267-2586
Improve this listing
Ranked #538 of 5,110 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Barbecue, Contemporary, Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,829 reviews 2,829 reviews
1,616 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 364 cities Reviews in 364 cities
1,344 helpful votes 1,344 helpful votes
“Over rated and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Seems to be living on its reputation - known to be a late night haunt of Sydney's top chefs but the food is ordinary. Have in the past enjoyed the duck and pork dishes but they had run out of the signature pork dish and we struggled to find other options. The staff had no idea of allergies and each time we asked "does this dish have wheat", they all ( about 5 or 6 waiters) said it was ok. When one dish came out covered in batter, it was clear they knew nothing about the food's contents and makeup.
Also, most dishes were a lot more expenise than our visits in the past.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    63
    30
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“More expensive now”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This used to be a regular haunt 10 years ago for the late night meal. I remember it being cheap and cheerful. Whilst the fitout hasn't changed much and the menu is familiar, the pricing is no longer cheap.
Service was also not as friendly as I remember.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good service and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

On a recent trip to Sydney the BBQ King restaurant was recommended by a friend. You can't judge the restaurant by the appearance and decor - fairly low key. The service was quick and attentive. The food was very good - would recommend the lettuce cups and Mongolian beef. Would definitely eat there again

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Any time I come to Sydney I try & get to BBQ King. The Peking Duck is one of the worlds best, and everything is superb. The price is excellent & they are super quick. Restaurant decor is a daggy but the food wins you over every time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwater, fl
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great pork and duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

As everyone says, not much to look at. We had a sampler plate that included crispy duck and crispy pork. It was outstanding. Good wine prices because they don't sell by the glass. We went twice when we were in Sydney.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BBQ King Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to BBQ King Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BBQ King Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.