We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and Overpriced, exist due to the location.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wolfie's Grill

Wolfie's Grill
17-21 Circular Quay West | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
1300 115 116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,692 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $15 - $51
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: Wolfies invites you to dine on a wide array of Australia's famous prime grain fed beef and local seafood prepared in our Chargrill kitchen. Our Executive Chef's philosophy is quite simply to produce the most premium quality beef and to lightly season and char grill it to the customers specification whilst allowing true flavour and texture to be appreciated.A favourite with tourists, Wolfies has a vibrant yet relaxed atmosphere. Great food, superb wine and friendly staff combined with views over the iconic Sydney Harbour and Opera House, makes for a perfect experience for anyone at any time of year
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average and Overpriced, exist due to the location.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a restaurant which trades on the location and not the quality of its food or service. Also take note that it is the same entrance and culture in the Waterfront restaurant also, which is next door. The girls at the front desk are surly and over talk you without listening.
Make sure you have a reservation of an evening as they will make you wait a minimum of 30 minutes before they seat you without one, even when there are many tables free.
I have had much better food in the local pub and paid a great deal less then Wolfies. The wine is heavily marked up and the food quality tough on the meats and the pasta dishes so soft that it almost resembles slop.
I would not waste my money here, especially when there are so many very good restaurants in Sydney to choose from.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    84
    53
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lovely location, attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A perfect location for dinner, with a dual view of both the opera house and the harbour bridge, (if you are seated up front).

We went there on a Monday night and the place was packed, so I'm glad we had a reservation.

The wait staff were rushed off their feet, and looked visibly harassed, but were friendly & attentive when it came to service.

The food was delicious, but it did have a disappointment when they'd run out of the Pork Belly, which was surprising as it was very early on. We also had a shock at the end with the bill, as we found that we'd still been charged for said pork belly. That aside, we enjoyed a lovely meal, in a beautiful location, and had a wonderful night, surrounded by Europeans.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great location and service. Helped that the weather in Sydney was fabulous. Service was friendly food was very good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wanna eat? Very well...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Wolfies not only has a great location, but the food, staff and atmosphere make it a meal to remember. Food and wines were excellent and service superb. GO THERE!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Large buzzy outdoor place great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Dined here twice in one week including a Friday, not too difficult to get in even then as long as you get there reasonably early. Excellent views of the Opera House, although on Friday night we had to wait for an ocean liner to move first ... could hardly complain about that though! From the plaza in front of the restaurant, both the Opera House and the Harbour Bridge are visible. Food is really pretty decent. Seafood starters seem to be the strength: I had excellent salt & pepper prawns the first time, and the Balmain Bugs (much better than they sound!) were a standout on the second occasion. That rare discovery, a shellfish that actually tastes distinctively different (in a good way) from anything I'd tasted before. The mains are kind of Italian / French / surf-&-turfy and just fine. My colleagues didn't have any complaints about the onion soup either. This is a big place which tended to mean slightly hit-&-miss service but it was mostly efficient and cheerful. A perfect joint to hang out by the water on a warm (or with patio heaters, not so warm) evening. Will certainly be back if I'm lucky enough to visit Sydney again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolfie's Grill also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Wolfie's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolfie's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.