We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and excellent dessert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quay Restaurant

Quay Restaurant
Upper Level, Overseas Passenger Terminal, Circular Quay West, The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
61 2 9251 5600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 5,297 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good and excellent dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have been to this restaurant for dinner, I ate really well. The atmosphere is cozy and quiet, and the desserts are wonderful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    146
    106
    41
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I expected more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We attended a business lunch on a weekday recently.
The restaurant is beautiful and even with a ship docked in front of it, there are still lovely views towards the harbour bridge.
Given Quay’s reputation and price, we were expecting the greeting and high level of service we received, but there were a few things that were a little unexpected.
We opted for the five courses rather than the full 8, as we had meetings to attend in the afternoon.
The food is beautifully presented, as you’d expect, but we each had one dish we didn’t ”love” (mine was the pork belly).
We all ordered the Custard Apple Snow Egg (as it was a first visit for two of our party), and wow, it really is everything that has been said about it and more.
However….. one of our party found a hair in his snow egg. A tiny fine hair (perhaps an eyelash or eyebrow hair?), but a hair in a snow egg at Quay?
He didn’t want to complain, and continued to eat the dessert, but it was (discretely) pointed out to the waiter who was collecting our plates, who swiftly took the plate away and didn’t return.
Within minutes we were given the bill and asked if we would like taxi’s ordered. We weren’t offered tea or coffee, and felt as though we were being ushered out of the restaurant.
It was such a shame, as we had otherwise had a really lovely experience.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Special - but !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The setting is beautiful with the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge lit up in the background.The decor is stylish and the area spacious although the noise from two separate large functions was a little much. The staff were prompt and pleasant although with a slight aloofness. The food servings were very small so we were glad that we had eaten lunch earlier in the day. We had the 4 course menu @ $175pp with two bottles of fairly average white wine @ $85 each. The raw, smoked black wagyu was underwhelming and while the meat was tender the lingering taste was more of smoked oysters out of a tin. The roasted abalone was chewy although the broth was lovely. The 3 small slices of duck was delicious and the black plum sauce beautiful. The long awaited snow egg for dessert was a let down. Whilst appreciating the technicality of it the actual egg was two mouthfuls of eggy meringue and watery custard cream and the amount of granita took away from the appeal on a cool evening. As we were a group of 8 they put a 10% 'discretionary gratuity' on top of the bill - which was not warranted as other smaller groups and couples were equally, if not more attended to. After the meal was finished and we did not wish to have coffee they ignored us. All in all - a one off experience with a very expensive (small) meal, in a beautiful setting - thank goodness the company was great!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The restaurant has real attitude problem.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Below is the compliant letter we wrote to Quay following a very unpleasant visit by my wife and her guest on Apr 8 (lunch). We were told that the email was forwarded to the general manager. It has been 3 days but we have not received any form of response from him/her.

Yes my wife was late and she apologized. There was really no need to show an attitude to her and her guest to make her dining experience more unfortunate. When my wife was late and was calling the restaurant to apologize all they cared about was that "a cancellation fee does apply"...

We had planned to celebrate our 10th anniversary dinner AND the birthdays of my wife and my child at Quay but after this incident we have vowed not to return to Quay again!!!

The attitude problem really started from the point wen the booking was made - the booking staff was most aloof in her attitude!

(The letter: all the names and personal details are hidden)

"Dear xxx (restaurant booking staff),



I am actually writing with utmost disappointment with the most unpleasant dining experience of my wife Ms yyy (my wife) and her guest at your restaurant on Apr 8 (lunch).

First of all, yyy was late and we do apologize for the inconvenience brought upon you and your staff. However may I share with you that we have also been late to El Cellar de Can Roca in Girona, Dinner by Heston in London, Caprice and Amber in Hong Kong, Pierre Gangiere in Paris, as well as the est., Rockpool etc. Despite the inconvenience we brought to them, the staff at these restaurants were still sympathetic, accommodating and professional towards us.

On the contrary, in dealing with your General Manager (yourself?) and the duty manager today, yyy found the attitude of the staff most aloof, and simply rude. For instance, after speaking with Sammi, your duty manager walked away visibly shaking his head. I would imagine a professional restaurant staff would only do so (if necessary) away from the customers!!! After all what exactly was said was not the most important. It was the approach. It was already very unfortunate that yyy and the guest were running late. Quay may offer customers food with fairly high quality but if the customers cannot have a good experience from dining in your restaurant, compounded by the poor staff attitude and service (your staff took away the wrongly delivered entrees from the table without a single word of apology), it must be considered as a failure from Quay's point of view.

I am not sure whether your restaurant can operate with this kind of attitude because you have a 5 month waiting list (i.e. apparently no shortage of admirers) for dinner but let me tell you, El Cellar has a 9-12 month waiting list and the professionalism of their staff is a few classes above yours.

Coming back to the other bookings already in your system, it is actually our 10th wedding anniversary on Aug zz 2014 and Sep ww 2014 is the birthday shared between yyy and our son. We really cannot entrust Quay with these celebrations and could you please kindly cancel these bookings with immediate effect. "

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This place gets two stars because we had to rate it on the basis of what we each got for our $135 lunchtime 3 course fixed price menu.

This place is not cheap so you expect something special. Did we get something special? Absolutely not.

Was the service anything special? No. Just ordinary.

Was the food as good as you would expect it to be. No.

Beware that each course is very small. I mean very small. We were offered bread once and were were not offered bread a second time. We could have ordered another course but did not bother. I personally left needing something else to eat. My wife was fine.

We cannot understand why this place is so popular. We think the offering here needs to improve quite a bit to catch up with some of the restaurants in this category overseas.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Quay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.