We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clever, delicious food, wonderful view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay Restaurant

Quay Restaurant
Upper Level, Overseas Passenger Terminal, Circular Quay West, The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
61 2 9251 5600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 5,319 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Clever, delicious food, wonderful view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch here on a beautiful sunny day. The focus in this restaurant is on the food and the view..everything else is discrete. The staff were very professional and courteous. Exquisite flavours. The Snow Egg is a masterpiece! We will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    147
    106
    41
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

i dont know what all the fuss is about this restaurant the ambiance is so old fashion the waiters are cold and not very good. Price too expensive for what you get compared to many other restaurants in Sydney even the Hyatt restaurant is so much nicer. Food too fancy and too many flavors and arrived cold. It was our last place and i was so excited, we went to aria, est, flying fish, Hyatt, iceberg, wildfire and they by fare top quay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Expereince Overlooking Opera House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had hosted a dining event for our partners recently in this restaurant. It has a wonderful location overlooking the harbour for open air party and a covered place for sitdown dining. The food was of very high quality and the staff was very courteous and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Best meal in Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Outstanding and innovative dinner. We were on the waiting list but got in and it was worth it but book many months in advance. Everything was outstanding from the food, to the service to the view. We had the multi-course tasting menu and I would strongly recommend that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sadly not the wow factor we were looking for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Maybe we are getting blasé about fine dining, but we ate in other noted Sydney restaurants this week and this was the only one that left us feeling 'ho hum'. This is not as good a Vue de Monde or even Le Restaurant (sadly no longer with us) in the degustation area. The food was good, but we have had better and at the price the food should have wowed us. The better dishes on the day were the peas with ham broth, the Snow egg and the 7 layer chocolate cake.
The waiting staff and the Sommelier were great and the view was to die for, sadly... the food, although good, was not.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Quay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.