We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“International Quality with breathtaking views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay Restaurant

Quay Restaurant
Upper Level, Overseas Passenger Terminal, Circular Quay West, The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
61 2 9251 5600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 5,160 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“International Quality with breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Quay is fantastic. it is everything you want from an event restaurant. Suitated with breathtaking views of one of the worlds greatest harbours. The food is very high quality amongst the best you could hope to experience anywhere in the world. Peter Gilmore is a brilliant chef and this is the restaurant to go to in Sydney.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    452
    122
    88
    32
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had read negative reviews about Quay so was unsure what to expect. The degustation menu experience was just fabulous. The staff attentive and knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble.

The service, food location and views of ships leaving/arriving in the harbour offers memories that will last a lifetime.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Expensive but still fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I visited this beautiful restaurant and were very impressed with the views and the staff. I don't think the view could have been better. The service and food were amazing. We both did the 7 course pairing for $220 each which we both thought after was overpriced. Still it is nice to dress up and spend some money now and then. Over all it was a great experience and very romantic location. The meal can take over 3 hours to finish so you better be patient people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautiful setting for an excellent wedding celebration. We were there for ur friends' wedding; food/ service were fantastic. Venue was spacious and the outdoor balcony and viewing deck gave the most awesome backdrop to wedding shots. The manager even took the groom's mom back to the hotel as it could be tough to get a taxi near the Rocks on Sat ngiht.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisvegas!
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“It is a first class experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

First of all the food was amazing, capped off by the snow egg. I won't go into detail on teh food other than to say every course was spot on, balance of flavour outstanding and the texture of each course brought a completely different experience. The views are as others have said amazing but for me the quality of the service, lack of pretension and absolute care made it memorable for me. I fully understand why it is a top 30 restaurant and the best Australia has. Any special occasion would be rewarded with a meal here.
and again.... the snow egg was amazing

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Quay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.