We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manta.....ray of happiness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Restaurant

Manta Restaurant
6 Cowper Wharf Road | Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (City East)
61 2 9332 3822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #455 of 5,171 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $54
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City East
Sydney
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Manta.....ray of happiness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great place, great view, nice wait staff, great food....a little expensive if you have the lobster, but hard to refuse on a lovely sunny lunch overlooking stunning yachts in Woolloomooloo. The soufflé was almost as good as mine, but my friends were disappointed that the restaurant ran out (not good for this kind of establishment and they were not happy!). Good wine list and I particularly recommend the Manta cocktail (lychee flavour).

The place is great for spotting celebs (John Laws looking quite fragile) and the "beautiful people" of Sydney. I live out in the Western suburbs and this place seems like another country...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    51
    44
    27
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
476 helpful votes 476 helpful votes
“as good as the last meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

There is a great choice of restaurants in Woolloomooloo, and this one ticks a few boxes, but not all.
The location in the summer is perfect and the host gave us a good table outside table , which is a must.
The service from that point was average. The food, was good, (squid to start) followed by a catch of the day) but when you add on sides (chips, green beans and a salad, it rakes the bill up) Whilst the food was not bad, it was not memorable either and given the bill was $600 for four people, it flattered to deceive this time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Fine Dining Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great views, excellent ambience, awesome food and wine list. What more can you ask for at Woolloomooloo at Sydney.

Oysters, Lobsters, Fresh Fish, Squids, Steaks are my regular orders at Manta and they have a menu which is short and sweet. Mud Crabs are served fresh from the tank at the Hotel which is awesome.

One of my favorite hangouts

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The food was fresh, well cooked and beautifully presented. The staff were attentive and seemed to appear just when needed. All this comes at a price, but in our experience, a price worth paying for something better than an average meal. The setting in Woolloomooloo Harbour is lovely especially if you can get an outside table. Thoroughly enjoyed and will definitely go back next visit to Sydney.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I agree that this is our favourite "special" restaurant. The service is incredible. We always sit outside by the water and it is lovely. The food is to die for. And the cocktails...WOW!! We always choose this place to celebrate! I cannot fault it ;)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manta Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales

Been to Manta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.