We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Alternative Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mars Hill Cafe

Mars Hill Cafe
331 Church Street | Parramatta, Sydney, New South Wales 2150, Australia
61 2 9893 9888
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,503 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Restaurant details
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“An Alternative Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very casual and almost alternative. No expense on the fitout. This is casual at its casual best. They have a lot of brochures and info about alternate happening and entertainment in the area. Food is goos and reasonably priced.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
“I love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Mars hill is a great place to hang out with friends or to have some quality alone time. Order a nice hot drink and enjoy the atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We liked the look of this quaint cafe amongst the other bigger players. The steak sandwiches were very disappointing with a small piece of grey meat that had never seen a grill (microwave?), thick slices of unspread bread that I think were toasted because a couple of spots on the crusts were brown, tough bacon, well cooked egg and no onions which were advertised in the menu. I only ate half because I couldn't get my teeth through the meat in the second half. The schnitzel was good according to our companion.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Quaint little cafe in Church Street. Outdoor & indoor dining.
Great coffee and late night desserts!!! Yum.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for Sundays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

Visited on a quiet Sunday. Service great and good value for money. The $10 breakie looks good but have to order before 12. Free WiFi too for the nerds among us. Overall exactly what I was looking for in a quiet Sunday lunch.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mars Hill Cafe also viewed

Stanmore, Sydney
 
Rozelle, Sydney
 

Been to Mars Hill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mars Hill Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.