We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Alternative Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mars Hill Cafe

Mars Hill Cafe
331 Church Street | Parramatta, Sydney, New South Wales 2150, Australia
61 2 9893 9888
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,471 of 5,172 restaurants in Sydney
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“An Alternative Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very casual and almost alternative. No expense on the fitout. This is casual at its casual best. They have a lot of brochures and info about alternate happening and entertainment in the area. Food is goos and reasonably priced.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    6
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
“I love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Mars hill is a great place to hang out with friends or to have some quality alone time. Order a nice hot drink and enjoy the atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We liked the look of this quaint cafe amongst the other bigger players. The steak sandwiches were very disappointing with a small piece of grey meat that had never seen a grill (microwave?), thick slices of unspread bread that I think were toasted because a couple of spots on the crusts were brown, tough bacon, well cooked egg and no onions which were advertised in the menu. I only ate half because I couldn't get my teeth through the meat in the second half. The schnitzel was good according to our companion.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Quaint little cafe in Church Street. Outdoor & indoor dining.
Great coffee and late night desserts!!! Yum.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for Sundays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

Visited on a quiet Sunday. Service great and good value for money. The $10 breakie looks good but have to order before 12. Free WiFi too for the nerds among us. Overall exactly what I was looking for in a quiet Sunday lunch.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mars Hill Cafe also viewed

 
Abbotsford, Sydney
Canada Bay, Sydney
 
Abbotsford, Sydney

Been to Mars Hill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mars Hill Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.