We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning client” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Busshari Japanese Restaurant

Busshari Japanese Restaurant
119 Macleay Street | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
61 02 9357 4555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 5,321 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Returning client”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very authentic Japanese restaurant with a great ambience, tender steak and the nicest sashimi with beautiful presentation. Nice to sit at the bar and watch the chefs create these works of art.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seeshaupt, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Authentic and high quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This small restaurant on Macleay Street offers a wide variaty of Japanese specialties. The place is busy every night, a sign of good acceptance and a reason to make a reservation. We revisited several times, enjoying the variety from Shasimi, Sushi, Tepanyaki, Teriyaki,Tobanyaki and Tempura. The raw fish is perfectly fresh, the wagyu beef was our favorite. The Tempura batter could be a bit thinner, yet tasted nicely. The place has a solid wine offering at acceptable prices, but you can BYO also.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Wonderful food, and friendly, helpful service. Excellent choice of sake, original dishes, expertly prepared, copious Japanese tea, side dishes with pickled vegetables. Eating experience greatly surpassed modest menu descriptions. Excellent value for money, especially coming from Perth.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Travelled to Sydney to take friends out for dinner. I bought a special bottle of sake. Once seated the waitress responded "BYO is wine only! No Sake!" Luckily the Maitre-d took over and opened our Sake.
The food was fantastic, sushi was fresh. Service good except for the no sake policy. Good night out

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“amazing food and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

i heard a lot of great things about Busshari, so a group of us checked to see what all the hype was about. Busshari not only lived up to the hype it surpassed it. the food was amazing and the service was great. we had a group of 7 and it couldn't have gone better.

we wanted to try a variety of things, so we did it 'family style' and shared lots of different dishes. the Kingfish Carpaccio is a must along with the Tuna and Ocean Trout Sashimi. the Wagyu Sizzling Beef is another great item to get at Busshari. they have a pretty good sake selection as well. not once were we disappointed during our meal and this will definitely not be the last time i go here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Busshari Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Busshari Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Busshari Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.