We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and high quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Busshari Japanese Restaurant

Busshari Japanese Restaurant
119 Macleay Street | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
61 02 9357 4555
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Busshari Japanese Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 4,241 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Seeshaupt, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic and high quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This small restaurant on Macleay Street offers a wide variaty of Japanese specialties. The place is busy every night, a sign of good acceptance and a reason to make a reservation. We revisited several times, enjoying the variety from Shasimi, Sushi, Tepanyaki, Teriyaki,Tobanyaki and Tempura. The raw fish is perfectly fresh, the wagyu beef was our favorite. The Tempura batter could be a bit thinner, yet tasted nicely. The place has a solid wine offering at acceptable prices, but you can BYO also.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    37
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Wonderful food, and friendly, helpful service. Excellent choice of sake, original dishes, expertly prepared, copious Japanese tea, side dishes with pickled vegetables. Eating experience greatly surpassed modest menu descriptions. Excellent value for money, especially coming from Perth.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Travelled to Sydney to take friends out for dinner. I bought a special bottle of sake. Once seated the waitress responded "BYO is wine only! No Sake!" Luckily the Maitre-d took over and opened our Sake.
The food was fantastic, sushi was fresh. Service good except for the no sake policy. Good night out

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“amazing food and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

i heard a lot of great things about Busshari, so a group of us checked to see what all the hype was about. Busshari not only lived up to the hype it surpassed it. the food was amazing and the service was great. we had a group of 7 and it couldn't have gone better.

we wanted to try a variety of things, so we did it 'family style' and shared lots of different dishes. the Kingfish Carpaccio is a must along with the Tuna and Ocean Trout Sashimi. the Wagyu Sizzling Beef is another great item to get at Busshari. they have a pretty good sake selection as well. not once were we disappointed during our meal and this will definitely not be the last time i go here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service & great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Went to Busshari for dinner with a group of 16. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. Highly recommend the king fish carpaccio and oyster with miso infused sauce.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Busshari Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Busshari Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Busshari Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.