We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great suburban restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glebe Point Diner

Glebe Point Diner
407 Glebe Point Road | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
(02) 9660 2646
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Glebe Point Diner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 4,195 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, French, Contemporary, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great suburban restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I am a regular here when in Sydney. Just around the corner. The food, mainly Mod Oz style, is consistently very good. The service is always good. The wine list is very good if a little expensive. The weekends lunch special deal is great. If you are in or near Glebe the Diner is a great choice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant. Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I am a regular here when in Sydney. Just around the corner. The food, mainly Mod Oz style, is consistently very good. The service is always good. The wine list is very good if a little expensive. The weekends lunch special deal is great. If you are in or near Glebe the Diner is a great choice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wow, how lucky are the locals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Found this Restaurant by accident, lucky we did - How lucky are the locals to have this as a choice! We sat a the bar in a cosy corner watching the efficient and friendly staff work professionally. The open kitchen allowed us to see our food being prepared. What a delight the food was, I had the Beetroot and Feta for starters - partner had Squid, both yum!. For main I had the Slow cooked Pork - partner the beef, the flavours of the meat were heavenly. Dessert Hokey Pokey ice Cream, this left a smile on my face - partner had the cheese platter, dreamy. The wine list was extensive, with a selection of Australian and Imported wine, we chose an Italian Pinot Grigio. Will definitely return with friends. Hint: You need to book as it is busy. If given the option of the bar, also say yes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Relaxed, great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I just enjoyed the relaxed nature of this classic diner with an outside side by side table feeling like a private dining room. Coorong beef fillet with hand cut fries and radicchio salad served with horseradish butter is a classic and the pork was equally balanced and nuanced.

The cheese plate offered Roquefort and a great American Cabot with homemade crostini and wheaten bread. Nougat and Single Origin coffee to finish. 500ml of Pinot Grigio complemented the sweet pork and shredded apple

All up a great evening with Luigi great at front of house making us welcome.

-$200 with a tip but well worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camperdown
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I just love this restaurant.. Smart casual - perfect for business meeting but also lovely for fancy dinner with family (yes, they have high chairs!). Set on the quiet end of the Glebe Point Road when you can just relax and enjoy tasty dinner.. I been there more than 3 times - always beautiful... :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glebe Point Diner also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Glebe Point Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glebe Point Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.