We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local restaurant. Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glebe Point Diner

Glebe Point Diner
407 Glebe Point Road | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
(02) 9660 2646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 5,424 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $36 - $36
Cuisines: French, Italian, Australian, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant. Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I am a regular here when in Sydney. Just around the corner. The food, mainly Mod Oz style, is consistently very good. The service is always good. The wine list is very good if a little expensive. The weekends lunch special deal is great. If you are in or near Glebe the Diner is a great choice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    29
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wow, how lucky are the locals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Found this Restaurant by accident, lucky we did - How lucky are the locals to have this as a choice! We sat a the bar in a cosy corner watching the efficient and friendly staff work professionally. The open kitchen allowed us to see our food being prepared. What a delight the food was, I had the Beetroot and Feta for starters - partner had Squid, both yum!. For main I had the Slow cooked Pork - partner the beef, the flavours of the meat were heavenly. Dessert Hokey Pokey ice Cream, this left a smile on my face - partner had the cheese platter, dreamy. The wine list was extensive, with a selection of Australian and Imported wine, we chose an Italian Pinot Grigio. Will definitely return with friends. Hint: You need to book as it is busy. If given the option of the bar, also say yes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Relaxed, great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I just enjoyed the relaxed nature of this classic diner with an outside side by side table feeling like a private dining room. Coorong beef fillet with hand cut fries and radicchio salad served with horseradish butter is a classic and the pork was equally balanced and nuanced.

The cheese plate offered Roquefort and a great American Cabot with homemade crostini and wheaten bread. Nougat and Single Origin coffee to finish. 500ml of Pinot Grigio complemented the sweet pork and shredded apple

All up a great evening with Luigi great at front of house making us welcome.

-$200 with a tip but well worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camperdown
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I just love this restaurant.. Smart casual - perfect for business meeting but also lovely for fancy dinner with family (yes, they have high chairs!). Set on the quiet end of the Glebe Point Road when you can just relax and enjoy tasty dinner.. I been there more than 3 times - always beautiful... :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This was about the 6th time I've been to Glebe Point Diner. It's always busy on Fri/ Sat evenings so you have to book in advance.
The restaurant has a modern, relaxed feel to it. The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive.
On this occasion, the food was once again, good.
They usually do two sittings for dinner, if you take the 8:15pm sitting then there is no rush to leave. There is a great wine bar called 'Timbah' about 5 minutes walk away which is perfect for pre-dinner drinks.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glebe Point Diner also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Glebe Point Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glebe Point Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.