We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zilver (formerly Silver Spring)

Zilver (formerly Silver Spring)
Level 1, 477 Pitt Street (Cnr Hay St), Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Inner West)
(02) 9211 2232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,893 of 5,105 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $68 - $68
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner West
Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We are tourist from Singapore. We bought the AUD19 Dim Sum for 2 Groupon voucher to try since their reviews seems good.

It was rather disappointing. I would say their dimsum was nothing like those from Hong Kong. I found a rubber band in my plate of vegetable too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    55
    19
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“Not as the name says”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I went to this groupon deal for yum cha, the food was yuck and in my opinion it was unhygenic too. Added more food then the deal offered and still Yukk never again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top choice for yumcha in the CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Broad selection for food but it might be not your every week meal,since it's kinda pricey
Also the staffs speak only basic english,so mandarin or cantonese knowledge are advised

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love the yumcha and the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I love this place for yum cha, this is one of my most favorite yum cha place in Sydney.

Try to go there early on the weekends to avoid the crowd. You could wait for up to 1-2 hours on the weekend if you arrive after 1pm.

The service is better than most yum cha place (no flying bowls over your head), and they are always very busy. I felt like I'm in a battle every time we go there.

You have to pay a visit to Zilver if you're in to Yum Cha!

Tips: If you like durian, you have to order durian custard pie, it is really good and I don't think other yum cha places offer it. It is a desert pastry, and can be found in the pasty cart.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a reservation with a Groupon voucher for the 6 course Peking Duck which we were really looking forward to however we found the restaurant to be disappointing. The carpets needed a good clean and I didn't like the look of the live fish tanks. The first 2 courses of dim sims were fine. However the Peking duck pancakes were floury and not very pleasant to eat nor did they have much flavour despite the small amount of sauce in each pancake. The sang choy bow was quite nice although you were only given 1 small lettuce leaf each leaving a lot left over to eat with a spoon. I was also very surprised that you have to pay for take away containers for any leftovers and while it isn't a huge sum it's the first restaurant I've ever been to that actually charges for this service. We were a little out of place as the only non-Asian patrons which is normally a good sign when looking for a good Chinese restaurant. Nevertheless it didn't really live up to some of the review standards that this restaurant has received in the past leaving us hoping that perhaps we got them on an off night.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zilver (formerly Silver Spring) also viewed

 

Been to Zilver (formerly Silver Spring)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zilver (formerly Silver Spring), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.