We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Atelier - CLOSED

Restaurant Atelier
22 Glebe Pt Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
(02) 9566 2112
Improve this listing
Price range: $44 - $44
Cuisines: European, French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One of the best in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have been to Atelier a number of times. They had their tenth anniversary on 1 April 2013 and well-deserved it was too. Unfortunately, we were out of town for the specials. The "degustation" normally is our choice, although we have eaten there with friends. It is definitely the "big night out" type of place and expensive. But, to get that quality, you do have to pay. One of the staff is the wife of the chef and when she serves the degustation, she knows just what is in it and tells you clearly. Our last visit, in January 2013, was just after their holidays and they were off to a slow start' perhaps there were tensions on the floor or in the kitchen? Atelier is not "industrialised". By that I mean there is not a set approach and the service normally is very good. It is small, so booking is essential. I would plan not to go there in a car as parking is limited; besides, if you do have a good meal there likely you will be well over the limit for driving! There is no bar as such and there is no outdoor seating, so if you want to smoke, go elsewhere. That will be difficult to do in Sydney (fortunately!).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Should be hatted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Last night our dinner club descended upon this small restaurant in Glebe. There were nine of us in the group including one vegetarian. We decided to have the four course set menu,$65 pp which changed to five when later offered the cheese plate. The staff were attentive and very knowledgable about the food which was stunning. Our vegetarian was catered for with equally inventive dishes. Having been here before I was not surprise by the standard of food and service, Atelier is one of those secret restaurants that one wants to keep for ones self, I have never left feeling hungry or wanting. With exceptional value, fantastic food, and friendly staff, what more could you want?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Un repas par excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've been to Restaurant Atelier three times now and it has definitely become a "must-do" each time I'm in Australia. It's small, intimate and quiet, despite the wood floors, the food is to die for and the waiters were friendly and knowledgeable. The entrees were amazing: king prawn with charred baby cos, smoked pork belly, dashi radish, black olive and yarrow leaf and liquorice-cured venison loin, fresh fig, picked purplette, rosa radish and bronze fennel. We opted for a special not on the menu, a wonderful cooked-to-perfection lamb shoulder that just fell off the bone with only a slight nudge. This was served with an interesting combination of potatoes and roast peppers. Oh, nearly forgot! An amuse-gueule was offered before the entree, a juicy single Japanese scallop on a corn sauce with some fresh herbs and some unusual leaves whose name I don't recall. That certainly aroused the taste buds! We also had sourdough served with tapenade and yummy home-churned butter I haven't had since farm days, so there was just no room for dessert.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Classic French/European restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A beautiful romantic culinary experience, delicate dishes lovingly prepared, yet size wise big enough for my enormous appetites. Why they do not hold the accolades of having been awarded hats, is astounding. Exceptional food and service and cheaper than most other degustations in Sydney. Strongly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A night to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went with some friends, last Wednesday, to Atelier in Glebe Pt Rd. I had never heard of the restaurant, other than from a mad Welshman who said it was one of the best restaurants in Sydney. It was the entree that sealed the deal for me, Heirloom Tomato Salad, Buffalo Mozzarella, Perfect Avocado, Heirloom Tomato Sorbet, Tomato Dashi. My partner's entree was Sweet-Cured Sake Kingfish, Fennel, Pomello, Coral Tenax, Ocean Trout Roe & Katsuo Dashi. My main course was Milly Hill Lamb, Poached Loin & Slow-Cooked Shoulder of Lamb, Spring Heirloom Vegetables & Purple Shiso Leaves. By this time there was no room for the dessert but my partner had Miron-Marinated Rockmelon, Black Sesame, Coconut Sorbet, Ginger Jelly, Rose-Scented Geraniums. This may all look a little complicated but it was sensational and the two waitresses explained every item on the menu.
Atelier is in a small house so there are different rooms to choose from which makes the evening so much more intimate and fun.
I agree with my Welsh chum, Atelier is there with the best, and more with its warm friendly ambiance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Atelier also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Atelier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.