We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One for the foodies out there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sardine Room

The Sardine Room
Shop 2, 31 Challis Ave Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
+61 93577444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5,199 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One for the foodies out there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully balanced flavours and quality seafood. Was going to pass up on the dessert but ordered it anyway. No regrets on the orange cake and dark chocolate ice cream whatsoever. It's as good as it sounds.

The service was warm and friendly. The waiter/owner knows their stuff. One that I can happily recommend to friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    94
    22
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food however let down by the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

if you are looking for a superb seafood that is definitely an option to consider Fresh, great flavours and very nicely presented. However it was quite disappointing to observe the difference in service approach to tourists and local Australians. We had to wait for more that 20 minutes to place the order, our table was used as a stepping table to serve tables of other guests, no menu options were explained to us unless specifically requested. At the same time local guests received an exceptional service with the the target to see them back again in the future and maybe with friends. Good income is never bad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We love going to good restaurantes and I can only say that the food in the Sardine Room was supberb, the service was outsanding, and the price was really competitive.
Really good value for money and excellent quality of food!
You must go if you are in Sydney.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tiny piece of gastronomic heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Just go!! The snapper will blow your mind. The tastiest I have ever eaten. EVER! The squid ink ravioli with crab meat ( their award winning dish) was so divine. My sometimes conservative partner tentatively tasted it, then devoured every last morsel! Only just stopping short of licking the plate! The calamari was so tender and full of flavour. It's a tiny place, so book! We saw so many turned away. You are in close quarters to your fellow diners, but it lets you check out what their having and get that next time!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“5 Star Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked to go to the Sardine Room on a Sunday evening - our final night in Sydney. We decided to go for a seafood restaurant and, upon looking on TrustAdvisor, found this to be the highest ranked restaurant. A little more research online confirmed it to be a good find.

From the moment we entered to the moment we left the service was first class. It was a quiet Sunday evening, but even so the full menu was described in great detail and we had a good understanding of what the dishes would taste like.

Between the 2 of us we had scallops, crab, cod and red snapper. The red snapper dish was one of the best fish dishes I have ever tasted. I finished off the 2 superb courses with a sublime dessert that topped the evening off perfectly.

I would highly recommend this restaurant. The prices reflect the outstanding quality of the food and service. With a BYO wine option you can also treat yourself without having to face a steep alcohol bill. If I were to return to Sydney The Sardine Room would be one of the first restaurants I would visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sardine Room also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Sardine Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sardine Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.