We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sardine Room

The Sardine Room
Shop 2, 31 Challis Ave Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
+61 93577444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5,479 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Valencia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We love going to good restaurantes and I can only say that the food in the Sardine Room was supberb, the service was outsanding, and the price was really competitive.
Really good value for money and excellent quality of food!
You must go if you are in Sydney.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    44
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tiny piece of gastronomic heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Just go!! The snapper will blow your mind. The tastiest I have ever eaten. EVER! The squid ink ravioli with crab meat ( their award winning dish) was so divine. My sometimes conservative partner tentatively tasted it, then devoured every last morsel! Only just stopping short of licking the plate! The calamari was so tender and full of flavour. It's a tiny place, so book! We saw so many turned away. You are in close quarters to your fellow diners, but it lets you check out what their having and get that next time!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“5 Star Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked to go to the Sardine Room on a Sunday evening - our final night in Sydney. We decided to go for a seafood restaurant and, upon looking on TrustAdvisor, found this to be the highest ranked restaurant. A little more research online confirmed it to be a good find.

From the moment we entered to the moment we left the service was first class. It was a quiet Sunday evening, but even so the full menu was described in great detail and we had a good understanding of what the dishes would taste like.

Between the 2 of us we had scallops, crab, cod and red snapper. The red snapper dish was one of the best fish dishes I have ever tasted. I finished off the 2 superb courses with a sublime dessert that topped the evening off perfectly.

I would highly recommend this restaurant. The prices reflect the outstanding quality of the food and service. With a BYO wine option you can also treat yourself without having to face a steep alcohol bill. If I were to return to Sydney The Sardine Room would be one of the first restaurants I would visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We shared 3 entrees and all were scrumptious. Main course deep fried whole snapper crisp on the outside and melt in the mouth on the inside. Fabulous service; very attentive and well worth venturing out in the cold evening. My only negative was that it was quite cold inside the restaurant and had to keep my scarf and coat on.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
2 reviews
“A Dining Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Angela and Rod run a truly delightful, small European style restaurant and are very happy to accomodate special requirements. Everything is fresh and most dishes could be made gluten free, with no bother. The salt and pepper squid made with rice flour was delicious and one of the signature items, the fish moussaka was also made for me gluten free and it was superb. The food is fresh, the prices moderate and the service excellent. We went twice in our two week visit to Sydney and will certainly go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sardine Room also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Sardine Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sardine Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.