We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dining Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sardine Room

The Sardine Room
Shop 2, 31 Challis Ave Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
+61 93577444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 4,990 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nestled in potts point, amongst the busiest eating strip in the area, the sardine room offers it's patrons seafood options at affordable prices in a casual, yet professional environment. The sardine room and its experienced team is able to cater for any occasion, from casual parties, intimate dinners for two, formal or cocktail functions. The sardine room offers bistro styled dining. Please contact us for inquiries regarding your next function.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Dining Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Angela and Rod run a truly delightful, small European style restaurant and are very happy to accomodate special requirements. Everything is fresh and most dishes could be made gluten free, with no bother. The salt and pepper squid made with rice flour was delicious and one of the signature items, the fish moussaka was also made for me gluten free and it was superb. The food is fresh, the prices moderate and the service excellent. We went twice in our two week visit to Sydney and will certainly go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peejay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

It's truly an experience at the Sardine Room. A Culinary delight in the heart of Sydney with two of the most wonderful people operating it. They will make you feel incredible the moment you arrive. Its a must try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasonwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“had the headline dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

it seemed a good idea, when eating at the sardine restaurant, t9o have the sardines, so i did, and was not disappointed, my wife was similarly impressed with her veggie dish too, so between us we both had a great feed

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fennyclogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Australia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Was in Australia on a trip which included Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane. Naturally, tried to venture to new restaurants. Dinner at Sardine Room, which I went with 3 other friends, turned out to be the best meal I had in Australia!

First of all, Angela lived up to her reputation as a fun, gracious host. Her casual manner and sardonic humour immediately broke the ice and put all of us at ease.

We decided to share our starters, which was a good idea because the portions were generous. We ordered the squid ravioli (2 orders because each order came with 2 pieces), shrimp wanton and the calamari. Our favourite was the calamari. Tasty and addictive. The ravioli was good too, each containing an egg yolk which was supposed to be cooking even as it was served. The explosion of the semi-cooked egg yolk in the mouth was a sensation to remember, though I found the ravioli skin a tad thick and tough. The shrimp wantons were fragrant and tasty -- we could smell the dish when it was to a neighbouring table, which convinced us that we made the right choice. If I were to be fussy, I would say that the skin of the wanton wasn't quite up to scratch -- too thick and a bit tough.

For mains, we ordered the baby snapper (supposed to be the signature dish), seafood moussaka, seafood pie and trout with truffle risotto. The baby snapper was, by no means baby in size! It was deep fried and drizzled with a soy sauce-chives gravy, giving it a very Asian flavour. The moussaka was a nice balance between the egg plant and other ingredients cooked in a tasty sauce. Ditto the seafood pie. The trout on the risotto was so so, but the truffle risotto itself was heavenly, with the right subtle touch of truffle aroma which I personally like.

The guys in our party did not have room for desserts but the girls order one to share. I forget what is was...though we took a pic :) By all accounts, it was very good!

Angela is apparently expecting, with the baby due in August-September. We wish her well and look forward to visiting The Sardine Room when we are next in Sydney.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Food_Art_Junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Messina, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Perfect, great fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Absolute perfect execution for both food and service, enjoyed everything. The fish was sublime and it is easy to see why the restaurant is so highly rated. Great wine list and nice atmosphere. Book before, a little bit crowded..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristopherKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sardine Room also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Sardine Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing