We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your usual "western" chinese restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spicy Sichuan Restaurant

Spicy Sichuan Restaurant
1-9 Glebe Point Road, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
(02) 9660 8200
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,218 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not your usual "western" chinese restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We visited this restaurant in the location at Cunningham Street (just off Goulbourn). The downstairs HotPot restaurant was packed, but we were after something less adventurous so we dined upstairs. Well, the menu features lots of offal, blood and bits of animals that we just wouldn't eat. The two dishes we did order were both very nice. The service was attentive, and it was a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food - but look, there are actually 2 restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This restaurant was in an alley around the corner from our apartment. When we walked in, the ground floor restaurant was full with all asians (always a good sign). You could see it was hot pot style. We were told it would be about 30 minutes but were sent to the 1st floor (up the stairs) to their more traditional dining room. We shared 4 dishes that were all excellent. We like spicy and the lamb ribs were incredible as was the eggplant dish. The service was fair but the food more than made up for it.

I have to think that the other reviewers never went upstairs.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Almost like being back in China, Hot Pot Heaven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We went to the "City Flagship" restaurant for a Hot Pot meal. I lived in China for three years and Hot Pot is a memorable part of the Chinese cuisine. It was very authentic and the atmosphere within the restaurant was just like in China. The food tasted great and was reasonably priced (for Australia) - much cheaper in China! If you have never tried a Hot Pot, give it a go here and you will get a feeling of what true Chinese food is. Well done.

I am sure I will return!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting.. wouldn't go again.. although glad i tried it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This restaurant is all about gizzards, feet, snouts and other animal parts i hadn't heard of.. was hard to find something I wanted to eat yet alone know what i was eating.. i stuck with squid... They automatically pour you chinese tea without asking then they charge you $1 per person.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“the ambience.. the location.. the price.. the service.. the food.. everything is acceptable, but acceptable only...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

the ambience.. the location.. the price.. the service.. the food.. everything is acceptable, but acceptable only, nothing impressive, so far.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spicy Sichuan Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Spicy Sichuan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spicy Sichuan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.