We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, outstanding, fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice I Am

Spice I Am
90 Wentworth Avenue | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
02 9280 0928
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #268 of 5,099 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Diner
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Delicious, outstanding, fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had the most wonderful Thai food here. The chef/owner Sujet is passionate about everything that goes into the food here and personally makes all the curry pastes each week. The freshness of the produce and aromatic flavours are just divine and way above many other Thai restaurants. It was no surprise that the restaurant was full of people enjoying Sujets wonderful dishes. Do yourself a favour and try this restaurant when in Sydney.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    98
    20
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine coast
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“There was nothing special this time around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Good Thai food can be amazing and from memory that was what I thought this place was having been there 3-4 years ago. This time around it was good by suburban standards but it lacked that special something that i told my friends they should expect.
The level of spice was right, in others words hot was hot. Maybe we just ordered the wrong meals this time.
I guess I will have to go back just to make sure we didn’t just pick the wrong things.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Thai Food at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently had lunch at Spice I am, Darlinghurst and the restaurant has been revamped by chef/co owner Sujet Saenkham. We believe the dishes served up to be some of the best Thai food we have tasted outside of Thailand! There is a great variety of dishes and nothing on the menu is over $29.00. The dishes are fresh and the aromatic pungent flavours are to die for. Spice I am has an elegant interior with an upscale cocktail bar and intimate private room - which we think would be great for private celebrations and the vibe is smart casual. The waiting staff are young, friendly and eager to please. Fully licensed. No BYO. Spice I am 296-300 Victoria Street, Darlinghurst. Early phone bookings only. Ring 02 9332 2445. Take Away available with Home Delivery in limited area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best Thai restaurants in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The food here is delicious. Having recently come back from Thailand, I have to say that the food is quite authentic too. Don't worry about the word Spice as you can request the dishes to have less chilli. Be prepared to wait for awhile on a Friday or Saturday night however the wait is worth it. Please though don't come in a group larger than 4 as you will be waiting a lot longer than tables of 2.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible and overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Our dining experience did not go so well. We ordered the following: Pan Nang and Red Curries along with Satay. The Pan Nang was satisfactory, but did not taste much peanut sauce. The Red Curry was not good not much taste and too watery. Both dishes were spicy, but not enough for me. The Satay was small compared to what we would recieve in the states. Price $14.50 for each curry. On the high side. Same dish in the states about $ 9.00. Oh forgot one more thing rice was not included( $ 3.00 extra), this is very unusual. I don't know many asian dishes that don't include rice since it is a staple. Service was very rushed if you would stop to take break someone was trying to remove your dish. I had to stop them several times. They seemed to be annoyed with this. They would ask, but not wait for reply before taking the plate. Bottom line if you are going to charge that that much for food, spend a little more money on some decent furniture. I felt like I was sitting on a bucket with the person behind me holding me up, since we were so close.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice I Am also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Spice I Am? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice I Am, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.