We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Assiette

Assiette
48 Albion St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
(02) 9212 7979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #834 of 5,297 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $49 - $49
Cuisines: French, Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Loved every minute great value for a restaurant of this quality. Would highly recomend and will be back.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    6
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Assiette was recommended to me by a trusted friend and I am very disappointed to report that there my overall experience was much less than I had hoped for.

Presentation of food was stunning, flavours were tasty (on par with most one chef hatted restaurant) however the lack of service really tested the overall fine dining experience. Whilst noting it was a full house that evening, the waitress appeared to have "forgotten" about us throughout the evening and she had quite a frosty attitude. I'm not suggesting there to be "butterflies and unicorns" but for the type of restaurant that it is, service is key! What was most off putting was hearing our waitress complain about diners after they had left the restaurant! (restaurant forgot to charge for the wine which disgruntled diner)

If you are after a fine dining experience with a nice setting, I would suggest you go elsewhere. Assiette is very loud and rammed with tables at full capacity.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really pleased with service and taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I went to this restaurant for my birthday and it was truly a night to remember!

Assiette certainly delivered one of the best dining experiences for us. The degustation worked wonderfully, since they gradually gave us dishes that were getting better and better through the course of the night. The last meal of the day was fantastic and the dessert was noticeably big and delivered quite a range of fantastic taste.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A bit overrated...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The restaurant was a bit small, noisy and the setting had no particular ambiance to it which was a bit disappointing for its 'raving status'. Staff was effective but I wouldn't say they posed any more than standard level of service.
We ordered degustation which was quite nice but I would've expected more out of a chef's hat restaurant. It was nice, but definitely not worth the price and not worth the experience.
They had turned on the air con during our meal so we asked them to turn it down because we were getting very cold. Then a lady used a padded stick to push the vent away from us - at this time, I saw how dusty the vent was, I feel sorry for the table underneath it, just imaging how much dusty just went onto their places.
Overall, disappointed at the meal and atmosphere. Was expecting a bit more attention to the food and quality of service. But seriously not worth it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stunning Food for Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

It's not always one can recommend a restaurant in Sydney, but this is one of the best meals I have had in 10 years - French influence too, which Sydney lacks. Staff most attentive and very pleasing atmosphere with white tablecloths. Congratulations to staff who cooked many beautiful dishes

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assiette also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Assiette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Assiette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.