We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vietnamese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Non La

Non La
59 Fitzroy St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
(02) 9332 1050
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,847 of 5,105 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We've been eating at Non La for years and it never disappoints.

The food is always delicious, and is bursting with fresh flavour and ingredients.

The Caramelized Clay Pot Pork is excellent, as is the Vietnamese Pancake, and the Shaking Beef.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The best of its kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have eaten in many Vietnamese restaurants; this one is the best in Sydney.
Very reasonably priced, simple, fresh, healthy and delicious food made in authentic Vietnamese way. You can have a great meal around $50 for 2 people. Our favourite are the crispy quails, the stirred fired beef with salad & vermicelli. Some of the dishes are very tactile which require your hands and fingers to do the wrapping, tearing and pulling apart. The service is very friendly and efficient in a well presented 2 storey terrace. BYO is also available. Unfortunately parking can be a little tricky in Surrey Hills. Booking is advisable as they have many regular customers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The dishes are incredibly refined and every time I go, I force myself to try something new, although I'd love to get what I got last time. Well, every time, I am so pleased to have tried the new one.
The restaurant is small, has downstairs seating and upstairs, but you really should book if you want to arrive after 6.30.
I would recommend the clay pot fish, the tamarind fish, the papaya salad (vegetarian available) and the pepper squid.
This is not just a Vietnamese family who started a business.This place is run by people who are real cooks- it's clearly their profession.
It makes me wonder why I waste my time eating elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Traditional honest Vietnamese food at reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

There are three Vietnamese restaurants in Fitzroy St and Non La was the cheapest and most traditional.
The crispy whole quail was simple but delicious it you like eating with your hands and picking at quail you'll love this dish. Also had green papaya salad with a great selection of fresh herbs (often missing from modern vietnamese food).
The other great dish was pork fillets in a caramelised sauce in a hot pot.
The main dining area is small so would recommend booking espeacially Fri or Sat night or go early 6pm and get out by 7pm. there is an upstairs dining area for groups.
Service was quick and efficient.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“great crispy pancakes and stuffed chicken...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

great crispy pancakes and stuffed chicken wings
also a good selection of squid dishes

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Non La also viewed

Stanmore, Sydney
Petersham, Sydney
 
 

Been to Non La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Non La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.