We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suminoya

Suminoya
Level Ground, 1 Hosking Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
(02) 9231 2177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #938 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Enjoyed this place. We were lucky to get a walk in table with no wait. They wee busy. We opted for the $39 set menu and it was very good value. Best bit is the cook your own BBQ at the table. Great place for mates who aren't up for a massive feed and just want a fun evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and reasonable service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We attended the restaurant recently with our extended family and had the gourmet buffet. It was very busy and I would recommend booking first. You only have 60 mins ordering time once you have started so things can get a bit hectic. It is not cheap but if you are reasonable eaters there is value in the buffet! The food is very good and the service was reasonable! I would eat here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Will review again once I try the buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had dinner here with a friend from Toronto recently, and we both enjoyed the atmosphere.

You most CERTAINLY need to make a booking and turn up on time - this place gets VERY busy indeed.

The sashimi was very fresh and delicious, so we ordered 3 lots... We ordered different types of marinated chicken for the BBQ (at the table), and the serving sizes WERE a bit small, especially as we were ordering off the a-la-carte menu. Once they're on the BBQ, they get even smaller... We ended up paying around $40 each, so for another $15, we could have had the all-you-can-eat buffet. Will try that next time.

We had no problems with service, as other people seem to have had. Maybe they were pushy and obnoxious customers? Or got a staff member having a bad night? (Which should NOT be the case in a service industry...)

So, the reason for my "Average" rating is the combination of price and small servings. Hopefully, I'll be able to give it a "Very Good" once I try it again. Which I will. :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I was kicked out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a booking and arrived on time, the staff kicked us out and gave our seats to someone else!! Unbelievable they are in such a rush and without even calling me before canceling my booking? So disappointed with their service.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eat until the heart's content”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

One of my favourite bbq restaurants. Great value for money. Delicious food and those beef tongue are addictive. Good service. I can't wait to go back.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suminoya also viewed

 

Been to Suminoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suminoya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.