We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Selah - CLOSED

Selah
12 Loftus Street | Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
(02) 9247 0097
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I've now eaten here many times and never been disappointed. The food is consistently both imaginative and delicious, the ambience is pleasing and the staff are lovely and efficient. They also have a very good wine list and plenty of nice wines by the glass.
Though Selah is tucked away on Loftus St and easy to miss, it's also incredibly handy to hotels, trains, buses, ferries and parking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    50
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food in a small city restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I selected Selah for a reasonably priced meal in the city on a Tuesday night. I was surprised to find the restaurant almost full and with the buzz of a place where the diners are obviously enjoying themselves.

We selected two appetisers, beans and spanner crab, both of which were delicious and, at $19, pretty good value. As mains we had John Dory, which was the tastiest fish dish I have had for a while - pan roasted and very well supported by the other flavours, and the Wagyu beef pie which I am told was also delicious. Both mains were reasonable value at around $35 each.

The wine list was interesting with an affordable range of wines, most of which I was unfamiliar with. We were very pleased with our choice - a McLaren Vale Shiraz.

Service was very friendly and efficient.

Selah exceeded expectations, and the high Trip Advisor rating is well deserved. Definitely a place to return to.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Fantastic Sydney Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We came here on the last night of our 3 week honeymoon and it was fantastic. The host/manager was incredibly knowledgeable and helped us pick out a delicious bottle of wine. The food was delicious and if you are a dessert person, you won't be disappointed by the dessert trio, particularly the plum pudding! Service was very friendly and not intrusive. Reasonably priced, particularly when compared to some of the outrageous prices that we had seen elsewhere. We would highly recommend this restaurant and would certainly return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We went to Sealh for dinner one night when we were walking through the area. We were staying close by, and heard that this area was great for restaurants and were not disappointed! We ended up going to dinner here twice, because we couldn't resist the potato roll! The service was really good, and the prices were affordable. If you are able to, totally go to eat at Selah!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, fabulous service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I choose Selah based on Trip Advisor reviews. I was not disappointed!

I choose the jerusalum artichoke risotto for a starter which was gorgeous - so tasty and just the right size. I had the steak for a main - cooked to perfect medium rare with delicious sides. Service was perfect - helpful, not intrusive. Excited about going back to Sydney in 3 weeks so I can return again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selah also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Stanmore, Sydney
 
Petersham, Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.