We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar

Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar
Shop 1, 216 Commonwealth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
(02) 9212 7766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #491 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

.. yummy food and great wine in Surry Hills....
It is a small restaurant but the intimate get-together is fantastic to have with friends.

Nothing will disappoint :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    54
    10
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a bit of a wait to get in, but it is worth the wait. Very good food and interesting dishes. I would love to come back soon again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Having heard about Bodega on the 'grapevine' my girlfriend and I decided to pop in. Last night we arrived and were pleased to see it was relatively full, without being rammed. The restaurant is pretty small but ample for the cosy and buoyant atmosphere one expects from a decent tapas restaurant. They seated the two of us on a sort of breakfast bar, against the window despite there being other two-seater tables available. This was annoying as we're sat next to each other and can't face one another, just flat against the window.

I requested a move to better seats but the waitress simply denied there being any available seats, as they sat a single diner down at a vacant two seater nearby.

We stayed where we were looking forward to the food. I was surprised at the cost of dining here firstly as well as the price of wine. Average of $18-20 per plate (they suggest 5 plates for a couple) and $70 a bottle of wine.

The food arrived and was reasonable but not great. Certainly not what I'd been hoping for, and not reflective of the price. The grilled calamari was charred so black that the only taste was charcoal. This left charcoal on the plate which duly affected the succeeding dishes tastes. Very annoying!

On to the service. A woman served us and was nice enough, if obviously rushed and did not wait for a finished dish before removing and bringing another. They are evidently not big on customer experience!

Overall the seating was awful, the food below par (indeed charcoal in parts) and the service inept and lacking pride.

All for a rather expensive experience and only a Wednesday evening. No idea how they cope when it's really busy...

I will not be returning and would advise others against it. Perhaps you receive better treatment in larger parties?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
“Not as good as I had hoped...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great spot at night for a light meal. Unfortunately this time I found the menu overpriced and didn't love any of the dishes. Hopefully better next time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“efficient but complicated ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had a business meeting, maybe not the right place to have a meeting as generally it's difficult to eat sharing TAPAS around a small table. but it wasn't my choice. service very professional. Food very good too, but I found the menu very complicated, not as to understand what to order, but the "too many" ingredients on one plate. I love simple food. No doubt this was very good, but it wasn't simple and possibly this is my personal problem :-) Anyway, I think the place is very laid-back and it is perfectly located close to Central station and Surry Hills.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.