We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“efficient but complicated ingredients” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar

Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar
Shop 1, 216 Commonwealth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
(02) 9212 7766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #597 of 5,099 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“efficient but complicated ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had a business meeting, maybe not the right place to have a meeting as generally it's difficult to eat sharing TAPAS around a small table. but it wasn't my choice. service very professional. Food very good too, but I found the menu very complicated, not as to understand what to order, but the "too many" ingredients on one plate. I love simple food. No doubt this was very good, but it wasn't simple and possibly this is my personal problem :-) Anyway, I think the place is very laid-back and it is perfectly located close to Central station and Surry Hills.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    58
    11
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good lunch stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

had lunch with special coupon offer - food was good but not exceptional. - it was very basic. Their extended menu did look good and the prices were reasonable.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice food and place but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice tapas and excellent service, but way too overpriced for the small size of tapas. I had for example a very good ceviche, but small and expensive. Also a bit strange for a tapas place (i.e. Spanish) not to have Spanish wines on glass.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Deliciousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have always been a fan of Bodega, and last week a couple of friends and I decided to try their new menu. We ordered the milk bun, ceviche and buttermilk pancake from the tapas menu, and pork belly and wagyu skirt from the main. Highlights were buttermilk pancake and wagyu with the most amazing fried eggs!

The good: very interesting, delicious food
The bad: mixed up our wine order, 90min wait for a table, would not fit in the 'value-for-money' category

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Oh yeah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

You really need four or more to eat here, so you can order everything! But make sure as soon as you sit down you reserve a big plate of all the meats from the wonderful open fire. This is a fun place to be as well as great food, with a sexy bar upstairs where you can all kick on after dinner.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.