We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Syria Wows Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almond Bar

Almond Bar
379 Liverpool St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Darlinghurst)
(02) 9380 5318
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Almond Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #161 of 4,979 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Darlinghurst
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
745 reviews
476 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
“Syria Wows Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Our first time at Almond and wow, what an impressive establishment! We chose three mezza plates and a salad - grilled haloumi, eggplant and calamari and were delighted with the tastes, the delicate use of herbs and spices. The service was relaxed, prompt and polite, with our water glasses topped up regularly. With one cocktail and one glass of wine, the bill came to $87. We thought this to be excellent value for money. Almond is THE place to try if you are in the Darlinghurst/King's Cross area. I can't speak more highly of the food and service. We'll definitely be back. Try it and tell your friends! Booking essential.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Went for the first time tonight. Loved everything. Started with garlic bread (unlike anything you will have had) then hauloumi and prawns. Mains were super tasty. Chicken, lamb and duck. We shared the dessert platter which was also great but the best were the lady fingers. Awesome. We'll come again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The food here is absolutely delicious. It has a nice lively atmosphere too. Sometimes the dining experience can feel a little rushed if you are at the first sitting, so I would recommend booking later. The menu had lots of choice, and there is plenty for vegetarians and people who are gluten free. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Amazing food. Wonderful place to dine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food and menu. Great attentive service. We shared a range of dips and mains. If was very filling, fresh and delicious.
The ambience and setting is intimate and welcoming. We had 3 dips. 3 mains between three of us and it was plenty. We left very satisfied and with very full stomachs. Highly recommended.
We will definitely return and recommend to all this wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Syrian delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My first foray into Syrian food, hopefully not my last. Wonderful from start to finish - restaurant, service, food, food food! The shredded duck and couscous salad and the felafel's were sensational, the squid beautiful and tender. Plenty to chose from on the menu but not overwhelming. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raelene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almond Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Almond Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing