We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wagamama

Wagamama
38 Bridge Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
(02) 9252 8696
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,832 of 5,321 Restaurants in Sydney
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Quorrobolong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This relaxed and affordable chain of restaurants is a must visit. We waiting about 10 minutes to be seated but were given menus to look at while we waited and our orders were taken as soon as we were seated. Food is great value and delicious. The battered bananas with coconut ice cream is a must try!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    32
    25
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Overpriced, bland food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We thought it was too expensive for what you get. Fried udon noodles portion size was generous, but ultimately just a bland stir fry with usual ingredients. Katsudon curry dish for my son was dreadfully average for the price, over $20.
It was my first time in the famed 'wagamama' franchise. The marketing is slick, but unfortunately the food just doesn't deliver. One good thing was the service, waitresses were very friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Came for a family lunch with three adults, one child - kids eat free with an adult, which is a bonus! Service was a bit haphazard - staff seem to be backpackers - my bento at 17 dollars was a slice of beef in gravy, some peas, sweet potato slices and rice. Very over priced compared to chinatown. I guess it's the cost of "the brand". Not going to work when you have sydney quality food and prices around the corner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Atmosphere is commercial (I had a large ad in front of my face), load, and in general nothing much to recommend it. The saving grace is that it looked clean.
I ordered chicken ramen. The soup was good but the chicken was very dry. It certainly tasted as if it was warmed up.
The service was efficient.

Summary: a place for quick efficient food

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“good for sea foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had see food with my friends. Very tasty sea foods I had with them in this restaurant.Also very nice place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagamama also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Wagamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagamama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.