We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value, functional setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thainatown

Thainatown
91 Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Chinatown)
(02) 9211 0090
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,209 of 5,305 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Suburban Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, functional setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Two of us tried this (May 2013) on the strength of largely favourable reviews on Tripadvisor and a positive notice in Time Out by Melissa Leong. They were right. Elegant decor there's none; it's a functional coffee-shop sort of space. You can see right into the kitchen (which looks clean and efficient!). You get a large menu to choose from, including a number of things that most westerners probably aren't going to try, and a lot of more familiar standards. Since the staff were speaking their language to many of the customers, I'd guess that most customers were Thai, which was a good sign. Meals are served pronto. Helpings are large. Food is tasty. Prices are quite reasonable -- four dinner dishes plus rice were $46 (tax and service included).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    17
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Curlewis, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tasty meal, lovely flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Shared a meal here with three other work colleagues who had gone there before. Atmosphere is busy and cafe style but we didnt care - the food was fresh, lots of flavour and served quickly. Its BYO, so choose a nice wine to take with you. Very reasonable prices, compared with other places we dined in during the week.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A real "local" feel to this restaurant. Food great, well priced and that it was full of Thai people was testament to being pretty authentic.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced comfort food, but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Thainatown was just a few minutes walk from the Vibe Hotel where I was staying at. The prices were reasonable, the diner was simple and had a nice fuss-free vibe. I had some takeaways for dinner one night (basil chicken and tom yam soup), although the flavours were good, I found the food to be laden with MSG, and was way too greasy for my liking. Wouldn't recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food for little money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Whenever we're in Sydney we HAVE to go to Thainatown. It hasn't disappointed us yet. The food is very tasty, good sized portions and inexpensive. We've taken several overseas guests there as well and they've all enjoyed it. Service is a little unfriendly but very quick. Excellent place for something quick and cheap and tasty.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thainatown also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Stanmore, Sydney
 

Been to Thainatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thainatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.