We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Tandoori Sizzler Restaurant

A Tandoori Sizzler Restaurant
524 Old Northern Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2158, Australia
02-9651-4451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,221 of 5,305 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is one of my fave restaurants! I have been here three times in the last month alone, and there is a reason why we always go back. The curries are just divine. Sometimes we order things without reading the description too much, just to surprise ourselves, and Tandoori Sizzler can do no wrong. It is fantastic! We ordered a dish that has three potato balls in it (the name escapes me sorry) and it is probably my favourite one I have had there. It is very hard to pick just one though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Have been a regular here for many years and seen a few changes, the current owners who were the original owners came back and gave us the quality of food that most lovers of Indian food desire.Very consistent curries each time and all very fresh, at least here all the dishes taste different and they take pride in their food. Service can be a bit slow on a busy night but the food excuses that. Worth a visit if you are in the hills area of Sydney and you need to book on a Friday & Saturday night so not to be dissapointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great new menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This has been my local Indian restaurant since it opened over 20 years ago. In that time there have been several owners and the food and service has varied in quality. The last few years have been the best in Tandoori Sizzler's history and the new menu that has just been implemented is superb. The food has a fresh flavour with just enough spices to make you come back for more. Wonderful staff, great views to the Blue Mountains, plenty of parking and BYO wine and beer with no corkage charge makes the Tandoori Sizzler the perfect place to catch up with friends or just have a dinner for two.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney , Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Dined here on Saturday evening and as always the food was top notch. A wide variety of Indian Dishes , all of the favourites and a number of specials. Having been to India many many times we are particular about Indian food and this restaurant hits the mark everytime whether dining in or take away. The Naan is as good as it gets anywhere as is the Butter Chicken. Service can be a little bit hit and miss from time to time but overall is generally very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great takeaways”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

First - the correct name for this place is Tandoori Sizzler - http://www.tandoorisizzler.com.au/

They do great takeaways which offer good value
It's a bit of luck of the draw when placing orders as some of the staff can't speak english well - but you get there is the end
Main thing is the food is great and the spices add an extra zing - you can choose the level of "heat" though

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Tandoori Sizzler Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to A Tandoori Sizzler Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Tandoori Sizzler Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.