We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bags of charm and good Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sailors Thai

Sailors Thai
106 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9251 2466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #225 of 5,305 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Australia's Thai food doyen, Sailors Thai owns the hallmark of Sydney's most delicious and authentic Thai food. Showcasing genuine Thai food at two ends of the spectrum – on the street and as it is in private homes and fashionable Thai restaurants – Sailors Thai awaits you.
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Bags of charm and good Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We travelled to Sydney from Phuket, so had recently had a lot of excellent Thai food. A wet Sunday evening meant that we did not want to venture far from our hotel, but we just wanted some small tasty dishes. We came across Sailors Thai by accident, but absolutely loved it. Communal, long refectory tables introduce a sense of community, the short menu means they have mastered the food and are not overly ambitious, the wine list is short but good value, and the service is great. What is there not to like?

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    112
    46
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
“Lacked subtlety of authentic Thai flavour combinations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Having lived in Thailand for five years, I was very disappointed with Sailors Thai. Entree (betel leaves) too sweet. Second dish(salt & pepper soft shelled crab) far, far too salty. Third dish (morning glory with duck) lacked flavour. Where was the lime to counter-balance the salt? Where was the chilli? At least the Rheisling from Canberra winery was enjoyable. I would have been dissapointed if my local cheap and cheery Thai takeaway served up this food. And three dishes would not have cost close to $100 (excluding wine). What a shame.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Hello Sailor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Be warned, you cannot book here. Lively place with two floors and a small harbour view terrace.

We visited from UK last year, so I was keen to return in 2013. I was not disappointed. Main dining room has just one long table, so when they call it a 'canteen', they mean it. However, it does encourage conversation between diners who are not yet friends.

Thai food is prepared while you watch, across the room. Efficient and reliable. Wagu beef was, of course, tender, but the spices were on an exalted level. Barramundi in chilli was eye-watering, but the lime and coriander made it a meal that will remain in the memory for many years.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Exceptional Thai in an eccentric eatery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I finally managed to get out to Sailor's Thai on my last evening in Sydney, and what a great ending to a wonderful trip.
It has one long trestle table inside, for communal, conversational eating, but I chose a small table outside on their small balcony. I had a startlingly fresh and zesty green curry as my main dish, and everything else matched its clarity and depth of flavour.
I'd love to go back, shame it's 22 hours on a plane away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Thai I have eaten in ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Fresh produce, beautifully presented, fabulous flavour. Casual atmosphere with professional staff. Definitely coming back here! Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailors Thai also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sailors Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailors Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.