We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sailors Thai

Sailors Thai
106 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9251 2466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #368 of 5,486 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Australia's Thai food doyen, Sailors Thai owns the hallmark of Sydney's most delicious and authentic Thai food. Showcasing genuine Thai food at two ends of the spectrum – on the street and as it is in private homes and fashionable Thai restaurants – Sailors Thai awaits you.
South Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Amazing Thai food in a more formal restaurant or the canteen. Just down in the rocks some good views of the harbour. Great seafood and amazing pork belly. Good wine list and service also. Restaurant takes bookings and is good for a more formal occasion the canteen is more casual, long benches and no booking requried/available.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    125
    56
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai food either formal or casual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We ate at both the downstairs restaurant which was more formal - white linen tablecloths and the more casual upstairs canteen. In each restaurant, we were lucky enough to be seated on the patio with a harbor view. I'm not certain if I would have wanted to be seated at the communal table in the canteen due to the noise - certainly not a place for a romantic date. We did arrive early at each restaurant since neither restaurant accepted reservations and it was a good thing that we did - it was quiet when we arrived but by the time we left, the noise level was quite high, particularly in the canteen section of the restaurant.

The food at each restaurant was amazingly delicious! Favorite dishes included the prawns with bok choy, green papaya salad, fresh spring rolls and a Pad Thai that I still can taste. The wine list had a good selection of Australian wines.

Service at the more formal restaurant was impeccable - they knew when to approach the table at the appropriate moment; not too much and not too little.

For this neighborhood of Sydney (The Rocks), the price was excellent - an average of $25 for entrees in the canteen and an average of $40 in the formal restaurant. The wines averaged $10 a glass.

Overall, I can't recommend this restaurant enough - absolutely delicious!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“May Be the best Thai food I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Wonderful fun place. No reservations accepted so you sit at a long table with other people and order. My daughter and I ordered Pad Thai and a sweet and sour pork belly dish (along with rice of course), both of which were great. Other dishes which other diners ordered looked equally tasty. We were sitting next to some folks from New Zealand who hadn't eaten Thai food before (or at least that's what they said), so helping them with the menu lead to interesting conversation. Not inexpensive but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a really nice meal last night. Shared three dishes which were all very fragrant and taste.

The service was good and the location great if you want to look around the Rocks area of Sydney .

Just so you know most of he seating is on a long communal table. Not a problem for us but if your expecting a table for a romanic meal you may struggle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Top Contributor
1,511 reviews 1,511 reviews
892 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 357 cities Reviews in 357 cities
667 helpful votes 667 helpful votes
“Give It a Try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This restaurant in The Rocks was one with which my colleague (who lives in Sydney) was familiar. It is in an interesting location with an unusual modern décor. We sat at a longer table almost family style next to people we had never met. If you don't mind this, it can be an interesting experience. The menu was full of wonderful choices. I usually get curry when I go to a Thai place and this was no exception. It was a great choice. The service was good and the prices are what you would expect for what you get. It is definitely worth a try if you like Thai.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailors Thai also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sailors Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailors Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.