We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Good Moderately Priced Meal With an Excellent View"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rossini at the Quay

Rossini at the Quay
Shop W5, Alfred Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
(02) 9247 8026
Improve this listing
Ranked #995 of 5,160 restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
South Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“"A Good Moderately Priced Meal With an Excellent View"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I couldn't go past the Title of AlandDiane's Review! We have regularly dined at Rossini's over the years whenever we have come to Sydney and have always been impressed with the food, the service, the moderate cost and the ambience. This recent visit was no exception. It must be a most harmonious place to work at because there are long-term staff members who look as if they could perform their duties with their eyes closed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    26
    31
    20
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Service in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Outstanding Customer Service and Excellent Service.
I had lunch at Rossini's on Wednesday the 5th of June. I had a tour group of 37 people that were participating in a tour that TOURISM STUDENTS & TEACHERS were conducting for Sydney TAFE.

All 37 people were quite hungry when we got there as they had been walking all day. We got there we were given the whole top floor to ourselves that had amazing views of Circular Quay, The Rocks, The Bridge and the Harbour. The service we got was amazing which gave the restaurant a fantastic atmosphere!

The Food was served within 15 minutes of us arriving there and were given complimentary breads and salads which you can't have Italian without bread and salad. The portion sizes where very generous just like mamas house and everything we ate was made fresh and you can tell ( I had the LASAGNA YUM. (Please leave the peas out of it)

I especially would like to mention FRANKA and MARIO for their gracious hospitality and for looking after us very well! Ryan - Bond Tours

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A Good Moderately Priced Meal With an Excellent View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Roughly at the west end of the quay, Rossini has a nice menu with a good wine list for a casual Italian dining at very moderate prices. We are not large eaters. So, it is important to us that we be able to split a main course. For them it was no problem. The food was good. And, since we were still in Sydney the next night, we returned for dinner again. On both occasions the waitresses were nice and service was prompt. We would definitely return the next time we come to Sydney.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Becoming a Circular Quay icon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have been going to Rossini on and off for almost 20 years. It has a location that most would die for and there is something very comfortable about it, even though some might argue it is touristy.

Being as objective as possible. The food is fine, prices are not as bad as they could be, service is strangely Italian - a little stand off-ish and arrogantly attentive, once you show a little appreciation it gets really good.

Coffee is good, I had a couple of Cannoli today which were great and on a good day it's not a bad place to while away a couple of hours.

Be nice to the staff and you will be repaid 10 fold, just like in Europe. Be a bad 'tourist' and you will be treated as such. In summary, the food is pretty good, great location, staff are ok (maybe not fantastic), prices are acceptable, considering where it is.

Definitely happy to recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good honest Italian with a glorious view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Must admit, some reviews for this place are varied to say the least, but my wife and I's experience was very good. Great lunch time deal, good service, didn't feel hurried along and what better view than the coathanger!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rossini at the Quay also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Rossini at the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rossini at the Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.