We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM char!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Regal Chinese Restaurant
347 Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Chinatown)
(02) 9264 9808
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“YUM char!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hadn't had yum char for a while during our 4 week trip in Australia and NZ. Came across this fantastic yum char place, great variety of food - very fresh! we are chinese food fanatics, and looking at the amount of local chinese people that were there definitely shows what they have on offer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    7
    9
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Treated to a meal by friends not seen for many a year, this was simply the best Chinese meal I have ever experienced. The portions were plentiful, of the highest quality and the service too was of an excellent standard. Glad I was not paying though!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Yummy Yum-Cha; Delicious Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Yum-Cha at The Regal Restaurant is an institution. As far as I know, it's one of the oldest and respected Chinese restaurant in Sydney - afterall, we've been going there on occasions for over 20 years!

Yum-cha dishes are fresh, tasty and the portion is extremely value for money (when compared against other Chinese restaurants in town).

Dinner is equally good as the portions are supple and extremely tasty.

Apart from the food, the interior decoration of the restaurant is tastefully decorated with Chinese authenticity; definitely not cheesy! Service is great and attentive. Highly recommended all round.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“popular yam cha place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

went there on sun 3 may with some friends at midday - busy as usual but it did not take us long to get a place- abt 10 mins. as long as u r seated in the main banquet hall close to an aisle, you will get service - yam cha carts tend to stick to the main aisle and not the periphery. normal selection of yam cha favourites. staff also speak english unlike other establishments which is good for non-chinese visitors

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra ACT
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Sydney Chinatown Restaurant Review-Regal Chinese Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We had a couple of days in Sydney this week and decided to try a couple of the better known Chinese eating places as we are very keen on Chinese food.

The first one we tried on day one was the Regal Chinese Restaurant located at 347 Sussex Street Sydney. This place is pretty much in the Chinatown area and easy to find. We went to this place to try their Yum Cha Lunch.

We arrived at 12 noon and were promptly seated in a restaurant which can hold several hundred people. There were plenty of staff to look after us and as soon as we had ordered a pot of Jasmine tea the Yum Cha trolleys started to roll our way. We tried a beef with black pepper to start. This dish cost $10 and was rather small and a bit fatty. The beef was tender and I suspected it had been marinated in bicarbonate of soda to achieve this tenderness although there was nothing in the taste of the beef to prove my suspicions. Nevertheless, it was a tasty dish although it could have been more carefully constructed. I gave it a 5.5/10 rating. If it had been less fatty I would have given it 7/10.

Next up we tried a plate of small dim sim dumplings- filling was pork with a smattering of prawn meat- four to a steamer and done well and to our liking. Dipped in a bit of chilli sauce they were soon gone. This was about $5 and I rated it a 8/10 for taste and freshness.

We could not resist the sweet pork buns and there were three to a steamer. They were of a good size and succulent and smooth and we ate them in quick time. These buns tend to be a bit greasy and we washed them down with the Chinese tea. I gave them 8/10.

An offering from the trolley of bar-b-que pork wrapped in rice paper was a treat and with a bit if soy sauce to dip them was the way to go. There were three reasonably sized pieces offered on a small plate. I gave this dish a 8.5/10.

We tried some spring rolls - three to a serve. Its a bit hard to do a bad spring roll if you are adecent restaurant and this offering was as good as most I had tried. Fillings were generous and overall I thought a rating of 7.5/10 was justified.

We found the restaurant clean, the staff helpful and the final total cost of $30.50 pretty good value - we would certainly return. I thought the restaurant was worthy of a rating between 7.5 to 8 out of 10 overall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regal Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regal Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.