We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - unassuming surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radio Cairo

Radio Cairo
9/83 Spofforth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2088, Australia
(02) 9908 2649
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow - unassuming surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Casual dining, friendly staff and an awesome menu. An unexpected surprise when visiting Sydney, recommended for a casual BYOD dining experience. Interesting and varied menu with some interesting specials. The ribs and creme brûlée were amazing, you won't be disappointed with the range of dishes on the menu.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    35
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I'd eat there every day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Love Love Love Radio Cairo!
I love that they are consistent. The food is made from great fresh produce and is of a consistently fabulous quality.
I love that the service is fast and efficient.
I love that I can eat here twice in 5 days and still want to go back the next day.
I love Radio Cairo.

Be warned, it does get busy, even on school nights. Yes its a little noisy when its packed, which is most nights. But that's Radio Cairo. If you're looking for a quiet, romantic setting for intimate conversation, you might want to come back another time. But do come back. Dinner here will be the best choice that you'll ever make, you'll love it and come back time and time again.

You'll spend about the same per head and leave feeling full as you would spend on a main meal alone in the city.

Try the crocodile (chicken) wings, Cajun (shrimp) popcorn, the eggplant dip, the ribs, the ribs, the ribs, sirloin slippers, lamb fillets, vegetable curry, in fact, try something different every time, you wont regret it!

What are you waiting for, book yourself a table and look forward to delightful tastiness!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Food Delicious but !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Been to this restaurant a few times and the food is always exotic and enjoyable BUT the servings are small and pricey fro the serving size. As for ambience, the restaurant is quite noisy and crowded. We ended up sharing entrees and mains amongst four which gave us a good overall range of things to try. The highlight for me was the delicious smokey eggplant platter. The wait staff do move fairly quickly, you get the sense that they like to turn tables over quickly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,573 reviews 2,573 reviews
1,450 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 341 cities Reviews in 341 cities
1,149 helpful votes 1,149 helpful votes
“Always love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Had been to Wes Anderson's new movie and along with a couple of hundred people, made a beeline for Radio Cairo at the end. Fortunately we had made a booking as the restaurant couldn't fit everyone in. A perfect night of a great movie and wonderful atmosphere - food is not fine dining but always fun, good service and an interesting array of spicy African style dishes.
Great value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We came upon this restaurant walking through Cremorne and managed to get one of the last tables on a very full Wednesday night. How lucky we were! The food was fantastic, particularly the pork ribs. Service was efficient and friendly. Radio Cairo was super value at $84 for two of us which included shared entree and dessert, two mains, and two glasses of wine. We will be back when next in Sydney.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Radio Cairo also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Cremorne, North Sydney
 

Been to Radio Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radio Cairo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.