We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food and the experience combined fell above perfection.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prime Steak Restaurant

Prime Steak Restaurant
Lower Ground Floor, 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9229 7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 5,486 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $98
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Voted Australia's Best Steak Restaurant for the past 13 consecutive years; Prime offers a first-class dining experience. With New York style interiors, heritage listed sandstone & our exceptional sommelier on hand - Prime is the ideal venue for the most discerning client whether it be for a private event for 10 or 130 guests. Prime offers 18 premier steaks including Wagyu, Black Angus and Hereford Yearlings ideal for steak lovers, but also offers a variety of seafood, poultry and vegetarian dishes. Its exceptional staff and expert sommelier are on hand to assist you with your food and wine selections. Through its cool, timeless, elegant interior and attention to detail Prime is the ideal location for lunch, dinner or a private function.
1 review
“The food and the experience combined fell above perfection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

From the moment our feet met the door of "Prime" we were carried away by a dinning experience that cannot be matched anywhere in Sydney. Every single individual guided us through our evening making us feel as if we were the only customers. The ambience reflects pure luxury, the food is perfection and the staff is sublime. The culinary art that is presented in each plate is picture perfect. The unfortunate fact is you have not tasted true steak until "Prime" falls to bits melting in your mouth.
The sommelier dressed the wine perfectly with our meal. Overall out of 10 we rate this an 11.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    39
    23
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Perfect steaks and fantastic service! Thanks Chris! Simply you must go there!
We ordered the wagu steaks 9+ marbling and Porter House! Entrees of prawns were perfect and wine list was huge so there was an extensive collection! For perfect steaks and great service you have to go to Prime!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Superb Fillet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

An Amazing dinner set in a suggestive atmosphere. The fillet was simply great!! I ordered Bombe Alaska for dessert.. definetely to try!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Steaks Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We went to Prime Restaurant for my birthday dinner. We ordered Sydney Rock Oysters, Seared Scallops and Chargrilled Tiger Prawns for Entrée. We also ordered steaks like Sirloin steaks, Prime Fillet, Rib Eye etc. Everything was so delicious and the steaks were the best. We had a very good time. Highly recommend to everyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Succulent tender steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I am shocked this establishment has not had more reviews because it is a must go to place in sydney.
Hidden in the basement level of martin place its an absolute gem.my sister and I meat lovers so the menu was just full of choices from angus to wagyu to chateaubriand.we had the angus Hereford and a tbone steak in the black angus list average price $55. The steak just melted in our mouth , and had a charcoal flavour ,the sides of potato chips and potato gratinnae was amazing. All in all would definitely recommend the portions are large and value for money.the ambience is dim lighting perfect for a romantic evening .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Steak Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Prime Steak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prime Steak Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.