We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Seafood Restaurant

Nick's Seafood Restaurant
The Promenade, Cockle Bay Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2000, Australia (City Centre)
1300 989 989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #781 of 5,186 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $30 - $150
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Broken Hill, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
“Okay for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

My family stopped here for early evening supper on a quiet Tuesday evening. Sat outside on the heated patio with nice views across the water. Friendly waitress who took our drinks order. We decided to have a mix of entrees. Our kids chose the mussels, we plumped for the specials menu and had seared scallops, giant prawns and the tempura prawns with asparagus. Wide range of decent white wines by the glass at reasonable prices. Food came quickly and was good. Adjacent tables filled up quickly and everyone seemed to be going for the large seafood platters mentioned in the other reviews. Bill was on the higher side of normal for the food but we were happy to pay the extra premium for the location. We weren't disappointed with our experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    167
    92
    58
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you love seafood MUST eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant was fantastic, the food was to die for, the service was excellent. We had the Seafood Platter for two and it was beautifu, the seafood was so fresh and the ones that had batter on them it was a very light batter and easy to eat. The Lobster was so tender and melted in your mouth. The fish was cooked beautifully and was so delicious. I had Sticky Date Pudding and it was fantastic, it wasnt heavy.
The staff were so friendly and the service was 1st class, I couldnt fault anyone or anything.
This was the best meal we ate in Sydney and next visit will be our first stop. Wished there was one in Melbourne

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Agree with NPVHongKong - poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We understand that we visited on a very busy long weekend. After being seated in walkway right at the pass - and requesting to be reseated to a quieter area (reluctantly done and outside the Ladies' toilet!) we ordered the daily specials to speed our way through the process. Service poor, attitude poor, table numbering system no-one understood (our table was numbered 1080!) - and the poor waiters could not find anything! Poor management and supervision - ad to wave our hands about for a while to get a drink!
And then a $5 weekend adult surcharge! Bizarre. We will not be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
“Overpriced, empty, and worse than typical”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I'd say you're paying for the view, but there is none to be seen! All you get is lights from the harbour and flustered waiters running around in a panic.

The food it worse than average. We had the wine (can't mess that up!), a $160 seafood platter complete with lobster, and a cold berry crumble that wasn't toasted. The platter was half chips (not exceptional ones!), fried squid (4 pieces), fried prawns (4), 4 mussels, 4 oysters and a small crab. Talk about a rip off. Every time we wanted to order more or have the table cleared we had to stop talking to wave someone down and they often forgot to come back to us.

I wouldn't recommend this to anyone I liked.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“You may for the location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The wait staff were very haughty and did not make us feel welcomed at all ~ but we were hungry so stayed! The location is great though - we were able to glimpse views of the 'Vivid' light and water show as well as the free fireworks.
The food was good, I had the tuna steak and most of it was cooked perfectly with about a quarter being inedible. The risotto was creamy and tasty and the fish fillets were alright. It is way overpriced for the food served - but I think you are paying for the location and some of the staff don't seem to really care whether you are taken care of at all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Nick's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.