We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You may for the location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Seafood Restaurant

Nick's Seafood Restaurant
The Promenade, Cockle Bay Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2000, Australia
1300 989 989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #823 of 4,205 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $30 - $150
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Wollongong
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“You may for the location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The wait staff were very haughty and did not make us feel welcomed at all ~ but we were hungry so stayed! The location is great though - we were able to glimpse views of the 'Vivid' light and water show as well as the free fireworks.
The food was good, I had the tuna steak and most of it was cooked perfectly with about a quarter being inedible. The risotto was creamy and tasty and the fish fillets were alright. It is way overpriced for the food served - but I think you are paying for the location and some of the staff don't seem to really care whether you are taken care of at all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    240
    133
    76
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Service was a bit cold but prompt. Setting is amazing. Food was generally lovely. A great view of the fireworks!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This restaurant was one of my favourites,located right on Darling Harbour but lived off it's reputation for too long. Had a poor experience where we paid a lot of money for a seafood platter and walked away disappointedf. Haven't been back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch n.z.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sydney holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

One of the many quality eaterys on Darling harbour Kings Street wharf and the seafood is delicious would recommend to all lovers of seafood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice but not amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Went there on a packed sunday lunch. Everyone in the place seemed to be ordering this famous platter which is basically a huge mountain of seafood (a lot of which is deep fried).

We ordered scallops to start which were lovely. For our mains we went with goats cheese salad and surf and turf for my boyfriend. The salad (admittedly was supposed to be a starter) was a little too simple, literally three ingredients went into it, goats cheese, salad and figs. I actually ordered some avocado to add a bit more flavour but still didnt blow me away. My boyfriend had the surf and turf and was very disappointed. Steak, two grilled prawns and chips in a bowl. It was just so dry! They had a mayonaise like sauce on the side but it did little. I think this meal was a little lacking in any type of sauces or garnish...or something!

As I said the food was nice but not amazing. Maybe we happened to choose the wrong meals for the day. The staff were lovely and we were very well taken care of which was reflected in the tip i left.

Would I go again? Probably not. But it was nice all the same.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Nick's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.