We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a try.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nepalese Kitchen, The

Nepalese Kitchen, The
481 Crown St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
9319-4264
Improve this listing
Ranked #976 of 5,318 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Nepali
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
ontario
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Give it a try.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had a fantastic meal at this restaurant on Saturday, it was just great.
Momo's and potato cakes to start, Momo's are dumplings and just fantastic.
I had goat curry, tender meat and a fantastic sauce, had to order rice with it and a roti bread as well. I thought my goat curry was good, till I tried my wifes chicken dish, wow! Now her chicken dish was just fantastic!
I had Kulfi for desert and I would have to say this was the perfect way to end the meal, it was like a ice cream and cleaned my palate just great. My wife ordered a spiced semolina dish which tasted just like an English Christmas pudding!

Had a cup of chai as well.

The service was great and we thought the restaurant well decorated.

I can tell you I will be going back that is for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly, informal and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, informal and great food. I don't know how they keep the prices so low this close to the city. I've been coming for 10 years. It seems to get better!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Noisy but Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The food here is fantastic and one of the only Nepalese restaurants in Sydney. The service is ok, the prices are ok, but it gets really noisy! If you're after tasty food and don't mind yelling, then this is a good night out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Tough and tender goat curry!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on a Saturday night. Good atmosphere, menu puts a creative spin on food you would eat in Nepal. Goat curry was tasty but had a mix of tough and tender goat pieces. If I lived nearby I'd eat here again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Well Priced Authentic Nepalese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Visited on Saturday night with a friend and we had a booking for 7.30pm, restaurant filled up quickly and was quite noisy but food very authentic and waitstaff friendly. Had momos for entree, the goat curry and lamb for mains with roti to mop up sauces. Waitress kept asking us if we wanted rice (two or three times) making me think thats where some of their profit margins are made.

Would definitely go back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepalese Kitchen, The also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Nepalese Kitchen, The? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nepalese Kitchen, The, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.