We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious veggie food in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mother Chu's Vegetarian Kitchen

Mother Chu's Vegetarian Kitchen
367 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Chinatown)
9283-2828
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #839 of 5,199 restaurants in Sydney
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Delicious veggie food in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a delicious meal at Mother Chu's whilst on holiday in Sydney. There are a good selection of Chinese vegetarian dishes on the menu and I believe there is no MSG used in any of them. We ordered steamed rice and a couple of vegetable and tofu dishes. The portions are generous and we left very satisfied. A good find!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    22
    11
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very average vegeterian food, english language is a challenge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

- Food cooking style is very vietnamese. Bland and boring
- Just 2 of them serving a full restaurant makes it very difficult to get service and their attention. Only one person in the restaurant understands english properly which makes things difficult

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent chinese vegetarian food.
Service is good and the food is amazing. We had a number of dishes, each one was perfect. And mother chu is still there, sitting in the back. Strongly recommend!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quantity and Quality in a Low-Key Environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hefty portions of well-prepared, authentic ingredients (varieties of tree fungus, mushrooms), including protein substitutes (tofu, seiten), prepared and coated with just enough well-seasoned sauces. I particularly like that the one dish I selected with fried tofu nuggets came healthfully balanced out with steamed, rather than stir-fried, eggplant, thus cutting down on fat-consumption and 'lightening' the meal overall.

This is one of those store-front restaurants, with posters and colored lanterns decorating a clean and attractive but otherwise bare-bone restaurant--just tables and chairs, no statuary, plants, or other architectural decor. So one can walk in comfortably in the same clothes used for the day's sightseeing and be served promptly and conveniently. Not fancy--but a place worth visiting for the variety of offerings and the (for Sydney) reasonable prices for the quantity and quality of vegetarian offerings.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unenjoyable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I am vegetarian and only eat vegetarian food but found the entire dining experience unenjoyable. We didn't like the food at all, maybe we were unfortunate in our menu choices but certainly won't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother Chu's Vegetarian Kitchen also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mother Chu's Vegetarian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother Chu's Vegetarian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.