We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fine dining, but who cares.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meat And Wine Co

Meat And Wine Co
31 Wheat Road, Imax Cinema Building, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
(02) 9211 9888
Improve this listing
Ranked #250 of 5,159 restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not fine dining, but who cares.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Anyone expecting fine dining in any of the Darling Harbor Restaurants is going to be disappointed so the challenge is trying to find the best of the bunch and the Meat and Wine Co may be one of them. We had a reservation and were seated immediately, even though there was a line of people waiting to get in. I was surprised that the restaurant was so busy on a Sunday evening. We chose this place because the menu is varied, the prices are reasonable by Sydney standards, and the location is great.
My wife had the bone-in ribeye and I had the trio of ribs after a beef carpaccio starter.
The food was fine and cooked as ordered. The service was prompt and courteous. Wines by the glass were reasonable and delivered with enthusiasm.
If I have any criticism it is that the tables are very close together and you better be prepared to hear the conversations around you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    128
    112
    48
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unmemorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Went with a group of 12 and had to have set menu @ $65. Apparently they can't do al a carte for over 12 people, really??? It's steak and chips!!!
Tasty enough but poor value for money. Service average. Really hate the dark bathrooms. Won't be back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Food was great but service and value were shocking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

It seems to be a theme with tripadvisor reviews for this place that the food always comes up well but the service and value for money are off the mark. I had a pre-planned dinner here already so couldn't change the venue. In any event, the reviews were spot on. The food truly was great. The steak was 'melt in your mouth' quality and the dessert was rich without being over the top. However, the service was inattentive and eventually downright rude. We were seated almost an hour later than the booking time with even drinks orders taking an age. The bill was incorrect and the staff were more willing to front up for an argument before conceding their error. I enjoyed the food but there is so much in Sydney to choose from that I wouldn't go back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nothing special.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Upon arrival, the waitresses were busy chatting away and didn't even notice we were right there waiting to be allocated a table. We laughed it off with them and they were pleasant enough. However, the table we were allocated (on the upper level) is quite possibly the darkest table on the planet. With jet-black walls and literally no light above or next to our corner table, it was literally impossible to read the menu if a waiter was standing next to your table. We resorted to pulling out our phones for some light. The food was good, but the waiter who served us wasn't. At the end of the meal when we requested the bill, the bill stated that they do not take card payments. So, we paid in cash and it took quite a while to get our change back. Overall, the entire experience wasn't fantastic, especially for the prices they charge. There are better restaurants on the harbour where you can get better value for your money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It was good, but could've been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We started our meal outside which was nice, but it began to rain. We moved our plates inside and became disconnected from the wait staff even though they recommend where we sat. The steaks were supposed to be superior so we went ahead and ordered the filet at medium and the boneless ribeye at medium rare. Well, they both came out as ordered except the ribeye was clearly medium. The waiter bragged on a marinade they put on their steaks, which was not that impressive. I prefer good old dry rub instead of a sweet molasses concoction. Over priced and not that great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat And Wine Co also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Meat And Wine Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meat And Wine Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.