We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for visitors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lowenbrau Keller

Lowenbrau Keller
18 Argyle St | (Corner of Playfair & Argyle Streets), Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
02 9247 7785
Improve this listing
Ranked #920 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We love to take visitors to Sydney to eat here. The atmosphere, complete with oopma band, cannot be beat. It's busy and fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    181
    80
    39
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“First timers. Looking 4ward nxt Oktoberfest!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Went here on my mum's bday with my brother and the kiddies. First timers here. Just saw on the internet, free meal for a bday person. U need to show them ur ID though. Fair enough. Cant decide what to order so we got the mixed platter shared for 4 persons plus we got 2 pork knuckes for freeee. Luv the crispy pork knuckles! Creamy mashed potato so delish! Massive mixed platter of sausages, meatloaf, crispy pork belly, chicken schnitzel. We r so full we cant finish our meal so we decided to take it home. Tried their pretzel, so nice with butter and its fresh oven baked. We tried their famous beer and schnapps. Good food, good drinks, good service! Shout out to our waitress who look after us and being patient with us. Too bad theres no oompah band that day. Will come back next Oktoberfest!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delicious, great service and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was an unexpected find after searching around The Rocks for somewhere to cater for coeliacs, we had the best meal, the ambience was awesome, we sat outside but you must peek inside as it is incredible. Such a fun time we had here with happy memories.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“I'm not German but I think it's the real deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I reluctantly chose this place to eat at because the best dessert house is nearby. Not caring for sausage I chose the pork belly. Incredibly good! If you're an American you likely haven't tasted pork belly - this is the place to try it. From the looks of all the other cleared plates, it's probably safe to say the other dishes are great too. Definitely will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A fun night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We enjoyed a work night out with 20 colleagues and it was a lot of fun. The atmosphere is authentically German and the band is very entertaining getting diners to participate in a various competitions, including yodelling, nail hammering, beer drinking and bell ringing. Definitely worth a look.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowenbrau Keller also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Lowenbrau Keller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowenbrau Keller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.