We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, fun and very tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lowenbrau Keller

Lowenbrau Keller
18 Argyle St | (Corner of Playfair & Argyle Streets), Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9247 7785
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,176 of 5,474 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: As Sydney's most popular and authentic Munich-style restaurant, the Lowenbrau Keller offers hearty cuisine and quality imported biers in a traditional bier-hall environment - right in the heart of The Rocks. The emphasis is on fabulous food, bier and entertainment, so guests can have plenty of pure fun with family, friends and colleagues any day or night of the week
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Rustic, fun and very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I've been here a few times and on a previous occasion with a German colleague who said this place is very authentic.

It's rustic in the sense you have bench seats and long tables that are shared. The staff dress in traditional costume and they have bands playing cliche German music.

The food is basic and extremely well executed. There a good selection of drinks including a couple of non-alcoholic beers.

Portion sizes are large and prices are reasonable.

This is a very busy place and there was a short queue outside when we arrived.

A nice if different dining experience that I'm looking forward to enjoying again someday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    213
    96
    43
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Yummy German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went here for post city to surf recovery with a big bunch of friends. Big hearty schnitzels were just what we needed!! We devoured huge plates of schnitzels, pork knuckle, wine and beer. Delicious food, attentive staff and quick service. I thought it was a little pricey (almost $80 for a chicken schnitzel, pretzel and three glasses of wine), but otherwise no complaints.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Super Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I ate here during a recent trip to Sydney while waiting for my departure time on the Sydney Harbour Bridge Walk. I had the daily special of Sauerbraten with a crisp lager and can tell you that the food was excellent and the lunch special moderately priced. If you are in or around the Rocks and looking for good food, stop in at Lowenbrau Keller!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love this Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We love German food and this place does it very well ( not to mention the beer). The band and traditional Bavarian games that the band leads are always lots of fun. The Lowenbrau is in a great spot in The Rocks area to people watch. We will visit this restaurant every time we are in Sydney.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Bit of Bavaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

When you order German food outside Germany, you expect something almost German but not as good...and definitely not better. I was there a year ago and still remember the Pork Belly, or Krustenbraten, as the Bavarians call it. Crispy, melt in your mouth. It was great.

I'm not a fan of Loewenbraeu beer, but the atmosphere was exceptional. This is a great place to hang out, drink and eat excellent Bavarian food on The Rocks in Sydney.

I'd definitely go back if it weren't 7 million miles away.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowenbrau Keller also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Balmain, Sydney
 

Been to Lowenbrau Keller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowenbrau Keller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.