We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmm. Beer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lowenbrau Keller

Lowenbrau Keller
18 Argyle St | (Corner of Playfair & Argyle Streets), Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
02 9247 7785
Improve this listing
Ranked #927 of 5,319 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mmm. Beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Bavarian style food including very large beers in steins. Having struggled to find anywhere to eat in the Rocks which 6 people could agree on, we went for this as soon as we saw it. Extremely large servings and way too much beer pretty much knocked us out for the next day or so. Couldn't fault the service. I think it worked out about $40 a head including beer, but I can't really remember.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    182
    82
    39
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Ok restaurant and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Went there for a dinner and prior to that I called them to ask if we can make a reservation and the girl on the phone said that we don't need a reservation and we can just walk in. When we got there, the bouncers in the front said that it will take about an hour but they said you can have drinks at the bar and wait. When we got inside and asked the waitress and they said about 20 mins. Finally we got our table early. Atmosphere is ok and food is good size but it wasn't the best. I think it was bit too salty and I have eaten German food before.

I think I would recommend Bavarian Bier cafe over this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice location, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went there this Sunday 23.06. This restaurant brings some German vibe into Sydney. Would have been a pleasant stay if the obviously German waitress wouldn`t have been so unfriendly. After telling us that our order of A$ 30 was not enough to keep sitting at this table, we had the choice to leave the restaurant or eat our food outside at the bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

decided to take my girlfriend for her last night in Australia as she was here on holiday and as usual it was a class act .this place is great and always a great night .the beer is fab and the food is fantastic ,this is always my first choice for a good meal and some beers :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“"Ambience Unlimited"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is another of our favourite Sydney Restaurants. Amongst other things, the staff are extremely friendly and efficient. This visit reunited us with Annika and introduced us to Tamara. The meals are enjoyable and reasonably priced, the live Oompah music is a bonus and the Draught Lowenbrau Original Beer is what we hang out for!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowenbrau Keller also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Lowenbrau Keller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowenbrau Keller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.