We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Incontro Italian Restaurant

L'Incontro Italian Restaurant
196 Miller St (Cnr McLaren St), North of the Center, Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
(02) 9957 2274
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,276 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

rhis is a real italian with great food and ambiente! would totally go back...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    0
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“stay away now is indians owner/management so low quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

we phoned to have info for a function and we spoke with niraf 1 of owner or manager was hard to understand him. he is indian so we decided to go for a dinner and have look. we parking at rear of restaurant, we were surprice to see by a door/window open than all the chefs were indians too, it's so strange if we go to eat at fine dining expensive italian restaurant we like to see and speak with italian chefs. the house is lovely but very hold you feel like you are in a museum red carpet on the floor dirty stained and very stinking they have to do a big modernize, The biggest problem is the service. more than Twice we were served by a young Italian waitress not professional who just didn’t speak English well. She failed to understand us on several occasions, and when it comes to asking anything even slightly out of ordinary stupidly, she just didn’t understand here in a very expesive fine dining awarded restaurant?????? our cutlery were stained,
food dishs are small portions and not hot in half, nothing special on the average but very expensive about 44$ a fillet hard + overcooked seafood mix platter. the services was slowly but we were only about 18 peoples on 1 dining room quiet empty on week-end evening in sydney?????. we not back again for sure under this new management and book funtion in a new better place, my wife's colleague suggest this place and told us about lino the previously italian owner.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Rude and inattentive staff. Marginal quality food howver a fair wine list.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Don't bother. I went with a group for an old relative's birthday, and if it hadn't been for her occasion we would have walked out. When the waitress was asked if she could speak up for the elderly guest she refused and instead told them they would just have to concentrate. Food was small portions of quite average food. e.g. oysters were the size of a 10c piece. The wine list was however extensive and of good quality.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The veal and ravioli were a revelation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

L'Incontro is in North Sydney but only a few blocks north of North Sydney Station. It occupies a historically recognized building and has an intimate and comfortable dining room with private rooms also available. We went in without reservations but were probably only seated because we arrived early so reservations are a good idea. The wait staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the specials of the day. We ordered the ravioli and veal and found each mouthful moan-worthy; the ravioli had the perfect texture in a rich, creamy cheese sauce and the veal was both tender and smokey. We also ordered the caprese: tomato and mozzarella salad; the cheese was fresh and the tomatoes, favorfull. Needless to say we went back a second time where we ordered gnocchi and duck. The duck, on reflection, could have been smoked and the skin more crispy, but the gnocchi was excellent. We also enjoyed the wine (Epsilon Shiraz 2009) and ended up ordering a bottle rather than individual glasses on our return visit. The desserts were nice, but not as outstanding as their entrees. Still, we would return again and can highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Classic Italian - good for groups , families, couples.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

A friendly welcome from the owner and staff presage a good service of well cooked Italian fare : oysters, calamari or other primi. Beaut fresh fish, or massive steaks ( and others) for secondi, and luscious dolci afterwards. Wine by the glass and by the bottle. My family had a great time and will be back. It feels like you are in Italy rather than North Sydney. Grazie signori e signore !!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Incontro Italian Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Stanmore, Sydney
 
Rozelle, Sydney
 

Been to L'Incontro Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Incontro Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.