We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but elegant restaurant with excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvest Vegetarian Restaurant

Harvest Vegetarian Restaurant
71 Evans St, Sydney, New South Wales 2039, Australia
(02) 9818 4201
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #98 of 5,090 restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Quirky but elegant restaurant with excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great restaurant but not in the city, it is a couple of suburbs out in a quaint neighbourhood known as Rozelle.

Great selection of vegetarian and vegan food ranging from Indian curries to Italian pasta dishes. Good serving sizes with restaurant (not cafe) quality presentation and flavours.

Small restaurant in a quiet street. Licensed or BYO.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    18
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very tasty... and I'm a meat eater!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went to the Harvest with my partner who is a vegetarian to even things up (we tend to go where I have more choice). The food was fantastic and I didn't miss not having meat! I had mushroom ravioli to start then risotto as a main. My partner had goat's cheese roulade to start and gnocchi as a main. We also had puddings; i had truffles and she had sticky date pudding. All the dishes were excellent and it was a novel experience for my partner to get to try my food! I've given the service 3 star but it was more like 3 and a half - this has nothing to do with the personnel, they were very attentive and did a great job, it relates to cutlery weirdly... the starter came with a lovely orange and basil sauce but I didn't have a spoon so couldn't get much of the sauce with the pasta and I didn't have a fork with my pudding so couldn't get much of the lovely chocolate sauce with my truffles and my partner couldn't get the cake and sauce together. I know this is trivial as I could have asked for the cutlery, but the place was so busy so it was very difficult to get the staff's attention so I gave up. I minor let down on a lovely night out though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great food and cozy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had a very hard time deciding what to order as it all looked so good. And I enjoyed my meal so much, I purchased their cookbook!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely valentine's day meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My partner has been here half-a-dozen times in recent years and rates it very highly, so we booked to have Valentine's Day dinner here.
It was a reduced menu compared to normal, but nonetheless plenty of options. I had the feta in filo pastry, gnocci with lemon and garlic sauce, and the chocolate terrine. All three were delicious and very fresh. My partner had the aubergine stack for her main and i had a spot of food-envy as the sauce on it was sublime!
We arrived early and got seated and served promptly. After an hour or so the place was rammed and the two people serving were visibly rushed off their feet. Maybe a third person serving would have been a good idea for a busy night like valentine's?
Harvest is tucked away nicely from any main streets which is great as there is lots of free parking nearby, and it's nice and quiet there.
We'll definitely be back one day :-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“shocker”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is probably the worst restaurant I have ever been to. We were kept waiting over 2 hours for our meals and were not offered any bread or drinks during this time. The waitstaff disappeared so it was difficult for us to get an ETA for our food. The meals when they arrived were bland and stodgy (and anyway, it was so late, we just weren't hungry any more).

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvest Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Harvest Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvest Vegetarian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.