We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Century

Golden Century
393 Sussex St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
9212-3901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #769 of 4,201 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Always consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place is amazing. Fresh fish and crustaceans abound in the clean tanks. The prawns and crab here are always delicious. It is not for the romantic, it can be noisy, but that is all part of the happy atmosphere. The best dishes are the fresh seafood and fresh vegetables. Normal Chinese dishes are not their specialty. try the steamed live prawns, salt and pepper crab, the steamed scallops are delicious too. there is a good reason it gets so many votes as the Chefs Choice.... It is a really good place to eat seafood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    143
    68
    20
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tn
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“A disappointing meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a very busy restaurant and that may have contributed to our experience. We got warm damp towels when we arrived but then waited for sometime before our waiter appeared. We ordered cocktails. When he took our drink order he then asked us for our dinner order. So much for a relaxed pace. The drinks bareley beat the food. While our food was good we felt we were being rushed to finish the meal and leave. The portions were generous--when our waiter brought the check we joked we'd had too much to eat. He brusquely said 'next time order less'.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I took 4 guests visiting from China recently to the Golden Century, It was their first visit to Sydney. I went there because of the reputation the restaurant had with fresh seafood and the reviews given by some of Sydneys Chefs. I should have read the reviews on Trip Advisor first, and then chosen another restaurant. Unfortunately my dining experience was disappointing to say the least, the service was terrible, the food was cold, tasteless and unappealing. The peking duck @ $72.00 was delivered to our table less than 10 minutes after being ordered, I would have thought for that price it would have been presented and carved at the table. The parrot fish we ordered from the live tank was cold by the time it was deboned by the trainee waiter. The other 6 dishes we ordered were equally disappointing. I've had better chinese meals for far less money and a better dining experience than we had at the Golden Century. I would mark this as a "never to return".

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went for a meal before Jesus Christ Super Star and it spoilt a good night out. The service was stressful, rushed and uncaring, the food ordinary and total bill outrageous. The schezuan prawns were terrible they tasted like they were braised in barbecue sauce. We were a table of 14 but they are well suited for groups. 5 lemonades, 5 coopers ales and 3 bottles of house wine came to $240 !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chinese at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Open all hours huge selection of food and is always of the highest quality.
get very busy so expect a wait if you just rock up

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Century also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Golden Century? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Century, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.