We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galileo Restaurant

Galileo Restaurant
89-113 Kent Street (@ The Observatory Hotel), Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
(02) 9256 2222
Improve this listing
Ranked #272 of 4,238 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: French, Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The decor, the waiters, the food are all top class. This is a great restaurant for that special occassion. My wife and I both agreed that it was one of the better meals we have had in Sydney.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous, classy establishment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I can only speak about our breakfast meal, as we didnt eat lunch or evening meal here. Beautiful, fine dining venue with impeccable service. Beautiful fresh produce, eggs cooked to order with a wide array of food choices. Enjoyed everything about this place. Now have an excuse to come back and try lunch/dinner. I'm sure I wouldn't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choice, lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great choice on the menu. I chose the linguine and added some prawns. The prawns were slightly undercooked for my taste but the waiter quickly whisked the dish away and had the chef cook them for longer.
All of the food in our party (11) looked amazing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous fine dining in the heart of the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were staying at the Langham so the restaurant was very convenient for us but we only ate there once on our last evening in Sydney as a special treat. We had the sampler menu and it was excellent value and fabulous food.

Our only complaint was the dress code - for such a high class hotel and restaurant, there wasn't one! Others came in to dine and they were wearing shorts, a hat, cut off, tatty jeans and did not care how they looked or behaved. We had thought that the evening would be a special one for us and dressed accordingly, but the attire and behaviour of our fellow diners actually spoilt our evening.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle, nsw
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We received a voucher for a degustation dinner at The Galileo Restaurant for Christmas. We really enjoy degustation dinners - lots of lovely little bits of tasty food. The whole meal - from the ease of booking, level of service and quality of food, was excellent. We opted for the cheese of selection which, while nice, was unnecessary. The asparagus on one of the courses was delicious and the ' French toast ' dessert were amazing. The wine selection was good and the Chablis we chose to go with the meal was lovely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galileo Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Galileo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galileo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.