We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let the waiter pick a menu for you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Doll

China Doll
4/6 Cowper Wharf Road, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (City East)
02 9380 6744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 5,486 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $75
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Asian fusion, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: City East
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Let the waiter pick a menu for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

On a warm spring day I joined two business colleagues for lunch at China Doll, sitting at a table overlooking the water and the luxury boats moored there. What a wonderful experience this was for the three of us.
We started by asking the waiter for his recommendation on the wine and this produced one of the best bottles of Riesling we have had albeit sadly the last bottle they had. The wine list is impressive with local and imported wines.
Looking at the menu which of course is Asian inspired we decided instead to ask the waiter to suggest some form of banquet for us and what a wonderful selection of food it was. Even the deserts where not only a surprise but absolutely wonderful.
Rather than spoil it for others I suggest they follow the same path and they will not be disappointed. Lastly as the meal was so good we had the waiter locate another alternative bottle of Riesling that finished the day off beautifully.
We will be back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    173
    55
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had a $59/pp share menu. Was really delicious food, great service from a very friendly and helpful waiter. Loved the mix of different Asian cuisines. Semi-expensive but comprehensive wine list. Highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great variety and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a fun night. Really recommend the $59 per head banquet. Loved that it was available for just the two of us.....most banquets are 4 guests as minimum. It was a Great way to taste a variety of really well presented and cooked dishes. Great views and atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This place has to be the best Asian fusion in my experience, had a seat outside on a nice warm night, food was delicious, duck rolls were my fav. Service was fine and the Pinot was great. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, Crap Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were booked in for the 6.30 seating, which means we need to be out by the 8.30 seating. Firstly I hate restaurants that do that, but if you are going to have 'seatings' then maybe you should make sure that what you offer actually can be consumed in the time you have allocated!
We ordered the banquet/degustation menu, obviously 2 hours was not enough time, we were continually reminded that we had to hurry up and so every course was rushed and we didn't enjoy it. The next course came out 5 mins after the previous one, so we had plates everywhere, rushing through the courses. They didn't even clear the table before throwing the next course down. The last 3 courses were so rushed (in the space of 10 mins) we couldn't even eat them because we were so unsettled and so full from stuffing our faces in a rush. They didnt even allow us the dessert, which we paid for in the cost of the banquet! We had to leave so they gave us the last dish and our dessert in a take away container!!!!
This all from a restaurant that is meant to be a high class establishment.
I eat at very good and highly rated restaurants all the time, including this one. This was far more than embarrassing for China Doll, it was disgusting!
The waiter had attitude the entire time.
What are you idiots doing? Worst dining experience, I was treated better at a local cafe. It was very uncomfortable

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Doll also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Doll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Doll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.