We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - But Service needs attention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Doll

China Doll
4/6 Cowper Wharf Road, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (City East)
02 9380 6744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 4,200 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $75
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Asian fusion, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: City East
Sydney
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great Food - But Service needs attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We love this restaurant and spend many a special occasion here.The food is outstanding and there is nothing on the menu that is not wonderful - I now need to explain my most recent visit and hope that there is some attention paid from management.
We made a 12pm booking and it was a glorious day in Sydney,arriving at 12.03pm we waited for 2 minutes at the front entrance whilst 4-5 staff gathered around a PC - not quite sure what was happening but it was a sign of things to come.Once seated we were really happy with our Wait staff and the food as always was sensational.Although we were the first seated in the restaurant we were seated right next to the entrance - the big problem being that as the restaurant became busier the line of people pushed up and we had people peering over our table - as the staff were MIA ! When your paying big dollars for a special meal you really don't want or need groups of people leaning over your shoulder checking out what you're eating.The Manager on Duty this day should have a rethink and work out what the priorities are in the restaurant game.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    179
    55
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good night out with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

the food was sharing style, good when you are with close friends. the flavours were fresh, light and amazing.
we had a little problem with a piece of plastic in the food but the waiter fix the problem with ease. you deducted the dish which had the plastic in it and gave the whole table a dessert platter and a cocktail each . they're service is great and we will be back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Asian in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Have been to china doll on many occasions the location is great especially for lunch as the view is great. The food is excellent on all levels and I would compare the food with PF Changs in Hawaii. Selecting one of the banquets is the best way to go if there are 4 or more people as this way you get to try a variety of the great dishes on offer. This would have to be one of the only restaurants in Sydney that I have come across that will adjust dishes to meet any allergies that people may have for that individual and they only change the dish for that effects the person with the allergy. The service is very good and nothing is a problem. If you like Asian food this should be on your list to try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We chose China Doll after checking out all the restaurants on the wharf. Having just had a huge walk and recovering from a big night, a good meal was in order. We had the banquet for 2. Which was all fantastic. Also saved us having to choose. It was great food just kept coming and complimented with a bottle of sav blanc. Staff are all very attentive and friendly. Would definitely go again when in Sydney.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The evening was still and mild, perfect for outdoor dining at China Doll on the Wharf at Woolloomooloo, and for catching up with friends. . We were lucky with our very attentive and caring waiter. The lamb straps dish was delicious for me who does not like fish, my partner loved his sea food curry. We didn't need sweets but the wine was not exactly as ordered, althoug it improved on opening and sitting for a while, but the waiter brought us a selection of sweets hoping to make up for the disappointment with the wine. An excellent bit of PR as we will be back!.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Doll also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Doll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Doll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.