We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Doll

China Doll
4/6 Cowper Wharf Road, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (City East)
02 9380 6744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 5,194 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $75
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Malaysian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City East
singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

It's modern Asian cuisine, mixture of chinese food and those from south east asia. The restaurant was packed on the night I was there for dinner. It was early week not weekend! Advanced reservation is advisable. I had prawn dumpling with green bean and red vinegar, steamed scallops with ginger for starters. The marinade fr the scallops though strong and spicy did not overwhelm their freshness. For mains I had organic wok fried beef fillet with capsicum and cumin eaten with jasmine rice. It was fabulously spicy but not too spicy. The beef was tender and juicy. It's simply delicious! Though the wait staff were polite and knowledgeable of the food, it was hard to get their attention especially on busy night. Worth repeat visits.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    133
    45
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sydney gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I must say I am not a fan of Sydney in general, however, our most recent visit included our first dining experience at China Doll. In short, it was fabulous and we will return on our next visit for another China Doll experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tried to go July 15 2013 and it was closed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Looked like they might just be remodeling but I would call first. Based on reviews we were keen to try it. Lovely area. Have it 5 stars as did not feel it fair to pull down its rankings but did want people aware to call.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“beautiful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Ate here with 15 business colleagues, had the banquet. Beautiful food, probably not enough though in my opinion, but beautiful nonetheless. First few dishes, there simply wasnt even enough for everyone to try the dish! Chilli calamari and Tea smoked duck were the highlight. Service very good, would recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Favourite Restaurant in Sydney : From a local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

China Doll has officially become my favourite restaurant in Sydney. I had heard of this restaurant for a while, but only dined there for the first time 18 months ago. Since then, I have been back five times and have also recommended it to lots of friends, as well as booking it for work functions. I love it.

The cocktails are great and the food is fabulous. I have managed to sample nearly everything on the menu and have not been disappointed with anything. Each time the staff have been friendly and accommodating, without being over the top and hovering, to the point of annoying. The restaurant is not cheap, but definitely not expensive. The beverages can certainly bump your price up, but please don’t be deterred by this.

I prefer this restaurant as a lunch option, rather than dinner, as you can experience the view and atmosphere during the day, whereas not so much at night. But yet, still great.

One of the greatest things about this restaurant, is that they allow you to order half serves of many items, allowing you to experience more choices. It is certainly the way to go! People ask me what type of food is served, my response is - modern Asian influenced.

Would I recommend this restaurant? Absolutely. Whether you are a local, from interstate or from overseas, you won’t be disappointed.

Regards
Cherie
Sydney, Australia

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Doll also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Doll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Doll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.