We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Doll

China Doll
4/6 Cowper Wharf Road, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (City East)
02 9380 6744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $75
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Malaysian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City East
Eumundi, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Loved the food,service was great and the place was really pumping, perfect location for people watching, we even spied a celebrity !
The duck pancakes and wontons were delicious as were all our courses, which were very generous and plenty for four to share, would definately go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    145
    48
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what it offers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The restaurant was good and I have nothing against it but I've come to think that if you want Chinese nothing beats Chinatown. Upmarket Chinese just did not do it for me and on the value for money scale I think Chinatown does it 100 times better by weeding out poor performers so you get consistently good quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Spot on! Modern, slick and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great location. Best wontons I think I have ever had (black bean and chilli sauce I think?), generally interesting and delicious menu, professional and helpful service, and not stupidly priced. Awesome salt chilli squid - a real bite and melt in your mouth tender. Yum - missing it already. Makes me wish I lived in Sydney. Asian with a twist.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Been here a couple of times now and enjoyed both evenings. Attentive staff and wonderful food...I have a seafood allergy so I'm nervous eating out in Asian style restaurants- it wasn't a problem. The seating inside can get a little too close, our table of two sitting next to a rather loud table of four.. All in all an enjoyable place to dine. Will be a regular I'm sure..
Highly recommend

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Sydney's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This place has it all ... Location , service , food , and a buzzing vibe ! One of my fav eating out spots , love going there .
Food is so good and service is friendly and super lovely , and staff extremely competent .
Location is good , and alfresco perfection !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Doll also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Doll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Doll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.